| Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
| Citation Management
Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.
Do you need the Web or Desktop version?
- EndNoteA citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.
Biology Databases
- BIOSIS Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. Contains original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, microbiology, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. 1926-present
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
- Springer Nature Experiments This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and life sciences protocols and methods for researchers from these combined collections: Springer Protocols (with 1 year delay), Nature Methods, Nature Protocols, and Open Protocol Exchange repository. 1980 to present. The library does not subscribe to all content.
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowYearly reviews of the most significant research contributions in the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Articles are written by recognized experts in each field. 1932 to present.
- Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Basic and applied research on freshwater, brackish, and marine environments and organisims. 1971 to present.
- ASM Journals Online This link opens in a new windowArticles from 12 American Society for Microbiology journals. 1916-present
- Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes periodical articles from hundreds of journals in agriculture, biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, genetics, microbiology, physiology, zoology and other related fields. Indexing: 1983 to present. Select full text: 1994 to present.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
High-impact bioscience research journals, many published by small societies and not-for-profit publishers. 1965 to present.
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Life histories of the over ten thousand species of birds around the world. Contains images and videos of behaviors, habitat, nests, eggs, and nestlings, as well as recordings of bird songs and calls.
- Book Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Citation index of books and book chapters for a given topic within social & behavioral sciences, arts & humanities, science and medicine. 2005 to present.
- Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new windowLinks to articles from numerous authoritative abstract collections. 1950 to present.
- Fish, Fisheries & Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide This link opens in a new windowArticles on culture and propagation, limnology and oceanography, genetics and behavior, natural history, parasites, diseases, habitat management, fish processing/marketing, and fisheries management. 1971 to present.
- GeneCards This link opens in a new windowA searchable, integrated database of human genes that provides concise genomic related information, on all known and predicted human genes.
- General Science Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Articles from scientific journals and magazines published in the U.S. and Great Britain. Indexing from 1984, full text from 1994.
- JOVE This link opens in a new window
View experimental techniques with detailed text protocols to increase scientific reproducibility and productivity. Includes Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Immunology & Infection, Molecular Biology (Core). 2006-present
- Global Plants (JSTOR) This link opens in a new window
Worlds largest database of high quality digitized plant specimens for scienctific research and collaboration.
- LifeMap Discovery This link opens in a new window
Database of embryonic development, stem cell research and regenerative medicine.
- Netter Presenter This link opens in a new window
Full set of images from the Netter Atlas of Human Anatomy (8th ed.) plus additional clinically-focused illustrations, radiologic images and videos created from the new Netter's 3D Interactive Anatomy and Online Dissection Modules. Labels can be added or removed from images.
- PanDaTox This link opens in a new windowAims at identifying genes and intergenic regions that are unclonable in E. coli, to aid in the discovery of new antibiotics and biotechnologically beneficial functional genes.
- ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowOur largest science and technology database from ProQuest which contains all of the content of more subject specific databases including AGRICOLA; Materials Science Collection; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts; Agricultural & Environmental Science Database and much more.
- Science.gov This link opens in a new windowSearch over 60 databases of authoritative science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
- TAIR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of genetic and molecular biology data for the model plant Arabidopsis thaliana, adopted as the standard laboratory organism for the study of higher plants. This site provides several tools for current research.
- Zoological Record (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of zoology, including the biochemistry, behavior, ecology, evolution, taxonomy, and genetics of animals. The world's leading taxonomic reference. 1864-present.
