Library Databases and Books
- PsycTESTS (APA) This link opens in a new window Describes psychological tests and measures, many of which are available for use in research and teaching, and some in languages other than English. Produced by the American Psychological Association (APA), this collection is primarily current, but coverage spans more than a century.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI) This link opens in a new window Index and links to measurement and testing instruments, 2/3 of which are in the medical and nursing fields such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, & drug efficacy evaluation. 1985 to present
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Guide to a large group of contemporary testing instruments which are available in print. Useful for evaluating test products within psychology, education, business, and leadership. 1938-present.
- Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences This link opens in a new window A service to locate tests, measures, instruments, etc. when there is a known title and a copy of the test is desired (last updated in 2014).
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window World's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
- Measures for clinical practice and research : a sourcebook byCall Number: BF176 .C66 2013 v.1&2Publication Date: 2013Contains hundreds of measures that are ready-to-use. Volume 1 focuses on couples, families, and children. Volume 2 focuses on adults.
Other Databases & Test Libraries
From the CDC - used to assess behavioral health risks.
Freely-available tests relating to community health issues from UCLA.
Survey questions from the Health Resources and Services Administration.
Questionnaires from the University of Pennsylvania's Positive Psychology Center.
Surveys developed for health policy research from RAND Health Care.
From San Diego State University.
Finding Tests in PsycTESTS
Using Dissertations
Looking for a printed version of a test or measure? Try a dissertation.
- Use the Dissertations and Theses Global database.
- Search for your topic. (You can try to search for your test or measure, but it doesn't always work.)
- Look through the abstract to see what testing instrument the author used.
- Check for any appendices that are the full text of the instrument.
FILMS about research methods
Films about research:
These are just some of the films in the Understanding Psychology film series.
Related Guide
Tests & Measurements - Education
A very useful page on tests & measurements by the Education Librarian, Arlene Salazar.