Graphic Novels: Graphic Novel Research

Graphic Novel Collection is on 3rd floor. This collection includes graphic novels, not books about graphic novels.

Graphic Novels tend to be in the following LC call number range:

PN 6727-6790 Comic books, strips, etc. (Graphic Novels)

But there are exceptions. Do a library catalog SUBJECT search for graphic novels to see a comprehensive list of all of Alkek Library's graphic novels, movies adapted from graphic novels, and books about graphic novels. Some graphic novels or runs of comics may still be in the 6th floor PN 6727-6790. Just look for the title in the library catalog.

Journal of Graphic Novels & Comics

The Comics Journal

• Print  PN6700 .C673, 6th Floor
• Online

TEDTalks: Scott McCloud - Understanding Comics

streaming video - you can watch it here - online!

There are several different subject headings for graphic novels. While searching for graphic novels, you may want to try some of the following subject headings in your search:

Graphic Novels
Graphic Novels United States
Comic Books Strips Etc
Comic Books Strips Etc United States
Fantasy Comic Books, Strips, etc.

Chris Eudaily from KTSW News did a segment on Graphic Novels.  Listen to the audio here.

• Art & Design Research Guide
  A research guide for finding Art & Design reference materials, books, periodicals and articles, images, career resources, and websites

• Library Directory
  Floor information and call number map to find books, graphic novels, DVDs, and other resources here at Alkek Library
  
  
  
• Library Catalog Guide 
  How to use the Alkek Library Catalog to find materials by keyword, author, subject, title, ISBN, etc. 

• Periodicals guide
  What is a periodical and how to find them. This includes a map of the Alkek Library 3rd floor where Reserves, Periodicals, and Media are located. The DVD shelves are on this floor where several graphic novels that have been adapted into movies are located.
  

• Scholarly Journals
  Characteristics of a scholarly journal. If you are reasearching a graphic novelist or graphic novels adn need a
  

Texshare - Check out a book from almost anywhere in Texas with one of these cards. Click for information.

Worldcat Searches thousands of libraries -  built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.

This page will give you ways to find books about graphic novels and how to research them using the library catalog. The box below this one has more info about using the library catalog and the Handouts box on the left hand column of the page has a handout with more with tips about how to use the catalog. The Finding Graphic Novels tab will tell you how to find graphic novels at Alkek Library as will the Subject Headings & Call Number Range boxes on the left hand column of this page.

There are also a sample of the books at the library about graphic novels in the box Selected Books about Graphic Novels, but there are many more which you can find using the information on this page!

In the Databases for Finding Articles about Graphic Novels box below there are different database suggestions for finding articles about graphic novels, graphic novel artists and novelists. 

Search the library catalog for graphic novels, books, magazines, ebooks, movies, and more!

TIPS:

• Use "Quotes" for Keyword phrase searching
• Click on the title to see subject headings (if you're having trouble with keywords)
• Use truncation, for example if searching for political or politics, you can type polit* and get any form of the root word before the *

Click on the image below to go to this catalog record for this graphic novel if you want to use the links on it.

These are just a few of the books that Alkek Library has about graphic novels. You can find many more using the information on this tab and on the Create Your Own Graphic Novel tab!

Check the Databases list for more database descriptions and subject areas.

NEW! Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels: Volume I

Art and Design Databases

These resources can be found on the Library Home Page through the Databases link and then under the Art & Design. Most of these are for finding articles. Also refer to the Library's Image Collections resources. If you are not in the library you will be prompted for your Texas State username and password. Use the Images tab on this guide for more about finding images.

• AP Multimedia Archive
• Art Full Text
• Art Index Retrospective
• Design and Applied Arts Index
• DesignInform
• Humanities Full Text
• Humanities International Complete
• Infotrac Fine Arts and Music Collection
• InfoTrac Pop Culture Collection
• JSTOR
• Project Muse
• rhizome.org (covers contemporary art)
• SocINDEX with Full Text
• Worldcat Searches thousands of libraries -  built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.

Communication Studies Databases

Communication Studies Databases could also be another good source for articles since they can cover visual communication theories and topics.

Image Databases

Also refer to the Library's full list of Image Databases. Use the Images tab on this guide for more about finding images.

• Ad*Access  
• ARTStor
• AP Multimedia Archive
• Credo Reference
• Grove Art Online
• WorldImages
• Web Gallery of Art
• Google Image Search

Literature Databases

You could also use literature databases to find info about graphic novels.

Book Review Databases

You can use Alkek Library's By Type drop down menu on the Research Databases page to find a list of book review databases.

Credo Reference  Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information. Has images and concept map too. See the tutorial below and more info about Credo Reference below.

E-Reference Sources at Alkek Library full list of our e-reference resources: full-text subject encyclopedias and dictionaries

Oxford Reference Alkek reference source for ideas on keywords and background information

Here is the link to our Writing & Citation Style Guides page where you can get handouts with Examples for different writing styles including APA.

The library also has copies of some of the different style manuals. Ask at the Research & Information Desk to see if there is a copy of the one you need, and if not we can look to see if there is one in the general collection available for check out. The handouts and links to examples on the Writing & Citation Styles Guide page don't have the entire contents of the APA or MLA manual so come ask for it and help at the Research & Information Desk , if you need it.

Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.

Do you need the Web or Desktop version?

• Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
• Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
• Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.