Special Collection Graphic Novel Resources
- American splendor : the official shooting script byCall Number: PN1997.2 .A5247 2003b, SW Writers, Wittliff Collections Reading Room, Floor 7
These are special collection materials, screenplays and final scripts for movies based on graphic novels or graphic novelists that are housed in The Wittliff Collections on the 7th floor of the Alkek Library. Location information is included next to the image of each special material. The linked title will take you to the catalog record for each material with more information about it.
- American splendor : screenplay byCall Number: SW Writers, Wittliff Collections Reading Room, Floor 7, PN1997.2 .A5247 2002Final script.
- Ghost world : screenplay byCall Number: PN1997.2 .G54 2000, SW Writers, Wittliff Collections Reading Room, Floor 7
Movies Adapted from Graphic Novels
American splendorCall Number: PN1997.2 .A5247 2003 c.2, DVD Shelves, 3rd FloorISBN: 0783123876Based on the comic book series "American splendor" by Harvey Pekar and "Our cancer year" by Harvey Pekar and Joyce Brabner.
Pekar is a frustrated file clerk working at the local V.A. Hospital. He is also a comic book fan who befriends the young illustrator Robert Crumb and is soon inspired to create comic books based on his own life. Along his bumpy journey he meets, marries and falls in love with Joyce, an admiring comic book seller.
These are movies that were adapted from graphic novels that are in Alkek Library in the DVD collection on the 3rd floor. Location information for each one can be found on the Alkek Library catalog record by clicking on the DVD cover images below.
Ghost worldCall Number: PN6727.C5 G56 2002, DVD Shelves, 3rd FloorISBN: 0792850963Based upon the comic book "Ghost World" by Daniel Clowes.
Best friends Enid and Rebecca are excited to finally be exiting that stupid, shallow, phony morass called high school. This summer they expect to: defy adult expectations, torment their friend Josh, shop at thrift stores and garage sales, follow strangers around, and pursue their private catalog of pranks and obsessions. Instead, they take an exquisite tour of the twilight zone between high school and the so-called real world, with an ironic running commentary from Enid - another memorable obsessive, compulsive, maladjusted searcher for authenticity spawned by the even stranger culture of America at large.
The dark knightCall Number: PN1997.2 .D38 2008, DVD Shelves, 3rd FloorISBN: 1419861220Based on the characters created by Bob Kane for DC Comics.
With the help of Lt. Jim Gordon and District Attorney Harvey Dent, Batman sets out to destroy organized crime in Gotham for good. The triumvirate proves effective. But soon the three find themselves prey to a rising criminal mastermind, known as The Joker, who thrusts Gotham into anarchy and forces Batman closer to crossing the fine line between hero and vigilante.
Graphic Novels Adapted from Books
Some graphic novels are adapted from novels or books rather than graphic novels being made into movies or adapted into another art form.
Ray Bradbury's The martian chronicles : the authorized adaptation graphic novel is adapted from Ray Bradbury's original fiction work The Martian Chronicles, which we also have at Alkek Library and the linked title takes you to the catalog record with location information. To find the graphic novel adaptation pictured below click on the graphic novel cover image and it will take you to the catalog record with location information, which is also below underneath the title and author.
Ray Bradbury's Fahrenheit 451 : the authorized adaptation by Call Number: PN6727.H28 R39 2009, 6th FloorISBN: 9780809051007Publication Date: 2009As could only occur with Bradbury's full cooperation in this authorized adaptation, Hamilton has created a striking work of art that uniquely captures Montag's awakening to the evil of government-controlled thought and the inestimable value of philosophy, theology, and literature. --from publisher description
Ray Bradbury's The Martian Chronicles: The Authorized Adaptation by Call Number: PN6727.C26 R39 2011, Leisure Reading Collection, Floor 2ISBN: 0809067935Publication Date: 2011The Earthmen came by the handful, then the hundreds, then the millions. They swept aside the majestic, dying Martian civilization to build their homes, shopping malls, and cities. Mars began as a place of boundless hopes and dreams, a planet to replace an Earth sinking into waste and war. It became a canvas for mankind's follies and darkest desires. Ultimately, the Earthmen who came to conquer the red-gold planet awoke to discover themselves conquered by Mars. Lulled by its ancient enchantments, the Earthmen learned, at terrible cost, to overcome their own humanity. Rendered in gorgeous, full-color art by Dennis Calero, Ray Bradbury's The Martian Chronicles: The Authorized Adaptation graphically translates fourteen of Bradbury's famous interconnected science-fiction stories, turning an unforgettable vision of man and Mars into an unforgettable work of art.
Shutter Island by Call Number: New Books Collection, Floor 2ISBN: 9780061968570Publication Date: 2009A U.S. Marshal and his partner come to Shutter Island's Ashcliffe Hospital in search of an escaped mental patient, but instead, uncover true wickedness as Ashcliffe's mysterious patient treatments propel them to the brink of insanity.
