Fashion Career Books
The Fashion Careers Guidebook by Call Number: TT507 .Y38 2011bISBN: 9780764146909Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Field Guide: How to be a Fashion Designer by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781610601702Publication Date: 2009-09-15
Grants and Scholarships
- Foundation Directory Online Professional This link opens in a new window
A database of U.S. grant-makers and their grants. Detailed funder profiles include program details, application guidelines, charts depicting grant distributions by subject, geographic and demographic focus, and recently awarded grants.
- PIVOT This link opens in a new window
Used for finding grants, fellowships, prizes and other types of funding for recipients anywhere in the world, working in any discipline. Funders are from the public and private sector; local, state and national governments; foundations and societies, and corporations.
Professional Fashion, Costume and Textile Associations
- Costume Society of AmericaThe Costume Society of America advances the global understanding of all aspects of dress and appearance. We work to stimulate scholarship and encourage study in the rich and diverse field of costume.
- International Textile and Aparel AssociationITAA is a professional, educational association composed of scholars, educators, and students in the textile, apparel, and merchandising disciplines in higher education. ITAA welcomes professionals employed in those fields who wish to join with members of the Association in the pursuit of knowledge, interchange of ideas, and dissemination of knowledge through meetings, special events, and publications.
- National Retail FederationOur mission is to advance the interests of the retail industry through advocacy, communications and education. The National Retail Federation is the world’s largest retail trade association. Based in Washington, D.C., NRF represents discount and department stores, home goods and specialty stores, Main Street merchants, grocers, wholesalers, chain restaurants and internet retailers from the United States and more than 45 countries.
Publication Opportunities
- Cabells This link opens in a new window
Provides research writers with information for submitting articles to major journals such as acceptance rate, open access type, average time to review, plus journal impact factors and altmetrics.
- Papers Invited This link opens in a new windowList of organizations looking for papers or posters from scientists, professors, post-docs and students to present at professional conferences. Its purpose is to assist researchers find publishing opportunities for their research papers.
- Ulrichsweb This link opens in a new window
Directory of U.S. and international periodicals. No articles, just information about journals.
Career Info & Graduate School
- Career Services at Texas State UniversityCareer Services empowers the diverse Texas State community to develop their full potential and enhance their personal excellence and professional marketability by providing strategic career guidance and opportunities to connect with employers worldwide.
- LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new window
Interactive skill building and practice exams for GMAT, LSAT, GRE, MCAT, TExES, TOEFL, ACT, NCLEX-RN, military service, and civil service. Many resources are also available in Spanish.
Career Research Databases
- Job & Career Accelerator This link opens in a new windowCareer exploration and job search tool. Contains detailed occupation profiles and provides resources for resumes, cover letters, interviewing, and networking.
- CareerOneStop This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive website for exploring career options, performing self-assessments on skills and interests, resumes and cover letters, interview preparation, and job searching.
- Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new windowA nationally recognized career handbook providing information about occupations, the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
Current directory of millions of U.S. and Canadian businesses. Useful for finding hot areas of development, creating marketing plans, conducting competitive analysis, researching consumer interests, and finding internship and job opportunities.
