Article & Database Terms Q&A
What is a research database?
A research database is a searchable collection of thousands of articles, often organized by subject.
What is a scholarly journal?
A scholarly journal is a scholarly publication with multiple articles that is often subject specific or has a specific audience. Sometimes referred to as a periodical, because they are published at regularly occurring intervals.
Textile Databases
- World Textiles This link opens in a new windowCovers topics related to textile products and manufacturing. Indexes journal and trade publications, American, British and European patents, and international standards information. 1980 to present.
Even More Databases!
- Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian magazine and newspaper advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. 1911-1955.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
- ArtStor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-quality image and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowSearch for fashion or other related terms to find encyclopedia & dictionary entries on fashion. Includes IMAGE search and concept map, see tutorial on concept map.
- Discovering American Women's History Online This link opens in a new window
Primary sources on the history of women in the United States. This diverse collection ranges from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 This link opens in a new windowOver 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
- Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming films on fashion culture, merchandising, career, and more.
Fashion Databases
See the full list of Family and Consumer Sciences databases for more fashion related databases.
- Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
Reference works and ebooks on design and craft studies, and history of design. Includes an interactive timeline for the history of design.1500 BCE to present.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Coverage of world fashion from 1500 BCE to present. Contains reference works, ebooks, and images.
- Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowDesign and craft journals plus data on international designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. 1973-present.
- Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new windowForecasting and trend analysis for the fashion industry for men, women, boys, girls, accessories, and home. Provides information from worldwide retail floors, runways, and trade shows.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material on the cultural change between 1950-1975. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, and underground publications.
- VOGUE Archive This link opens in a new windowPopular fashion magazine. This is a complete archive of first issue in 1892 to present.
- WWD Archive This link opens in a new window
Popular fashion magazine. This is a complete archive of first issue in 1910 to present.