Embroidered Textile
Title: Rank Badge with Wild Goose
Artist: Unknown
Date:18th Century (Qing dynasty (1644–1911)
Medium: Silk and metallic thread embroidery on silk satin
Met Museum
How Do I Evaluate Websites? Oh, the CRAAP Test!
If you find a website that you think might be useful for your assignment, use this list as an evaluation tool.
Currency
- When was this article or page published? Has it been updated since then?
- Has the author written more recent papers on the same subject?
- Does this article contain statistics or data? Are more current figures available elsewhere?
Relevance
- Does the information in this article answer your research question?
- Does the type of article fit the requirements of your assignment?
- Is this article appropriate for college-level research?
Authority
- Who wrote the article?
- Is the author an expert in the field? What credentials does he or she have to suggest that?
- Can you find any other resources that cite this article?
Accuracy
- Does the information in the article fit with what you already know about the subject?
- Does the article contain references or citations to other resources?
Purpose
- Does the article seem to be objective, or is there any obvious bias or prejudice?
- Does the author use emotional language?
- Is the author writing on behalf of any company or political entity?
The CRAAP test was originally created by librarians at Meriam Library at California State University, Chico.
Textile Collections
- Art Institute ChicagoThe Department of Textile's collection consists of more than 13,500 objects ranging in date from 300 BC to the present.
- Henry Art Gallery - Embroidery Stitch Identification GuideThe Embroidery Stitch Identification Guide presents a standardized nomenclature and classification system for embroidery stitches based on seven structural and three usage categories. The goal is to provide consistent nomenclature for designers, ethnographers, textile historians, curators, and others who wish to identify embroidery stitches or create embroidered textiles.
- vads - Goldsmiths Textile CollectionThe Collection is used by a wide variety of researchers from different disciplines, including visual arts, anthropology, history and design. Students, academic staff and researchers, both from within Goldsmiths and outside, together with members of the public use the Collection.
Fashion History Timeline - FIT-SUNY
- Fashion History TimelineThe Fashion History Timeline is a project by FIT’s History of Art Department. The Timeline offers scholarly contributions to the public knowledge of the history of fashion and design. Consistent with this mission, the Timeline’s written commentary, research, and analysis provided by FIT students, faculty, and other members of the community is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.
Digital Fashion & Costume Collections
- Cashin (Bonnie) Collection of Fashion, Theater and Film Costume Design, 1913-2000The collection contains Bonnie Cashin's personal archive documenting her design career. The collection includes Cashin's design illustrations, writings on design, contractual paperwork, photographs of her clothing designs, and press materials including press releases and editorial coverage of her work.
- Drexel Digital Museum ProjectThe Drexel Digital Museum Project: Historic Costume Collection (digimuse) is a searchable image database comprised of selected fashion from the Robert and Penny Fox Historic Costume Collection (FHCC), designs loaned to the project by private collectors for inclusion on the website, fashion exhibitions curated by Drexel faculty and fashion research by faculty and students.
- Europeana CollectionsExplore fashion - historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos - from museums and archives across Europe.
- Fashion Institute of Technology MuseumThe museums permanent collection encompasses some 50,000 garments and accessories from the 18th century to the present.
- Houston Community College Fashion ArchiveThis is a free resource for fashion design and research featuring historical garments and accessories from the 1740s to the 2000s with a Texas emphasis. The Houston Community College Fashion Archive is a fragment of the total collection maintained by the Houston Community College Fashion Department and is digitally created and maintained by Houston Community College Libraries.
- The Metropolitan Museum of Art - Costume InstituteTexts and images from the collections of the Costume Institute and the Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Please note that access to some material in this collection is restricted to computers within The Metropolitan Museum of Art.
- We Wear CultureExplore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute.
- Valentino Garavani MuseumValentino Garavani, legendary fashion designer, has defined a unique world of couture for almost half a century. Now his achievement takes radical new form, in keeping with the creative traditions of the house: THE VALENTINO GARAVANI VIRTUAL MUSEUM.
Fashion Drawings Digital Collections
- André Studios 1930-1941: Fashion Drawings & SketchesFashion Drawings & Sketches in the Collections of FIT and the New York Public Library.
- Fashion Plates - Digital Collections of the Los Angeles Public LibraryOver 6,200 hand-colored, finely detailed fashion illustrations produced between 1780 and 1880 for British and American fashion magazines. The plates depict fashionable styles of dress for men, women and children, and constitute valuable source material on the history of dress during this period in history.