ACCESSING DATABASES
Databases
Key Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of evidence-based medicine databases including systematic reviews, controlled trials, methodologies, evaluations and technology assessments.
- JBI database of systematic reviews and implementation reports This link opens in a new windowSystematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research following the JBI methodology. 2003-present.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource. Registration is required, in order to earn CME, CE, or CPD credits. NOTE: To keep your personal login active and retain access on mobile device, you must access UptoDate from a computer every 90 days.
Other Databases Worth Considering
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Indexes nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters, and health pamphlets. 1980-present.
- Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Titles cited in CINAHL, supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Updated daily. 1989-present
- LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection This link opens in a new windowJournals of interest to nursing, allied health, and health administration students and professionals. Current.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of evidence-based clinical information for nursing practice, education, and research at the point of care. Includes Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, continuing education modules, and videos.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related fields. International in scope. 1952 to present. Simultaneous user limit is 8.
GOOGLE SCHOLAR
Google Scholar
If you search Google Scholar, please consider configuring your Google Scholar account so that you will see the option FindIt@TxState. This options allows you to see if the full text of an article is available through the library.
OR just access Google Scholar from the Databases page:
Is it Peer-Reviewed?
Here are 3 suggestions for determining if an article is peer reviewed.
Library Databases: Some of the library's databases either have a field or indication that an entry is peer reviewed. Remember, "scholarly" is not the same as "peer reviewed."
Ulrichsweb: Search by either the title of the journal (not the article title) or by the journal's ISSN. If you see this icon, 
, then that is an indication the research articles in the journal are peer reviewed. This database uses "refereed" in place of "peer reviewed".
Serials Directory: Search by the journal's ISSN and limit to the field "IS ISSN (No Dashes)". Make sure to enter only enter the 8 digits removing the dash if present. This resource will indicate if an entry is peer reviewed by showing the field "Peer Reviewed: Yes" in an entry. If the resource is not peer reviewed or if this resource cannot provide that information the "Peer Reviewed" line will be omitted.