Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hot Topics and Controversial Issues: Government Resources

This guide provides recommended resources and search strategies for information on hot topics, controversial issues, and pro/con arguments.

Congressional Research Service

Congressional Research Service reports are not freely accessible from the government.  However, luckily there are those out there who have made them available online:

Controversial Government

Some of the controversial or hot topics about that are actually about the Government.  See what the government is saying about the government!

NSA Surveillance Leaks: Background and Issues for Congress

Serial Set

Serial Set Digital Collection from ProQuest
Subjects: The Serial Set includes reports and documents either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials. It is a broken into parts (collections). Collection 1 begins in 1789 with the American State Papers and provides comprehensive, full-text access to Congressional and Executive branch documents and reports published in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set through 1969. Collection II provides coverage from 1970-1979, and 2004 to present. Collection II also contains Senate and Executive Documents and Reports 1817-1969.
Formats: Millions of U.S. government documents, over 300,000 illustration captions, 1.67 million statistical table titles, and 55,000 map records.
Coverage: 1789-present 
 

Government Resources

Congress.gov

Congressional Digest Pro & Con Online from Congressional Digest Corp. 

Online searchable version of the Congressional Digest, an authoritative impartial source for information on controversial topics. Subscription does not include Supreme Court Debates and International Debates.

CQ Researcher from CQ Press 

In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs.

Congressional Hearings

Capitol Hearings

Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports

 

CQ Databases

These resources are not technically Government Documents, but are good resources for information about Congress.

CQ Researcher from CQ Press  About This Resource
Subjects: In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Formats: Full text reports. Maps.
Coverage: 1960 to present 
 
 
 
CQ Weekly from CQ Press  About This Resource
Subjects: In-depth reports on issues looming on the congressional horizon, plus a complete wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes.
Formats: Full text.
Coverage: 1983 to present. 
 
 
 
CQ's Politics in America from CQ Press  About This Resource
Subjects: Source for information on members of the U.S. Congress and their districts. It contains in-depth profiles of every member as well as data on their constituencies, apportionment, and redistricting.
Formats: Electronic book.
Coverage: 2010, 2012, 2014