Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hot Topics and Controversial Issues: Recommended Databases

This guide provides recommended resources and search strategies for information on hot topics, controversial issues, and pro/con arguments.

Controversial Issues Databases and Sources

The Alkek Library provides access to many Pro/Con and Hot Topic Databases. You can access these by choosing Pro/Con Issues & Hot Topics from the dropdown menu under Browse Databases by Type:

 

Pro/Con Databases

Alt-Press Watch from ProQuest  

 

Multi-subject articles from approximately 200 alternative and independent presses.

Alternative Press Index from Ebsco 

 

Cultural, economic, political & social change. Alternative, radical, & left viewpoints from over 300 international periodicals & newspapers.

   

Congressional Digest Pro & Con Online from Congressional Digest Corp. 

 

Online searchable version of the Congressional Digest, an authoritative impartial source for information on controversial topics. Subscription does not include Supreme Court Debates and International Debates.

   

CQ Researcher from CQ Press 

 

In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs.

Gallup Brain from The Gallup Poll 

 

The Gallup Brain is a searchable, living record of more than 70 years of public opinion that includes the answers to more than 125,000 questions and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context from Gale -Cengage Learning 

 

Current social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.