Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hot Topics and Controversial Issues: Home

This guide provides recommended resources and search strategies for information on hot topics, controversial issues, and pro/con arguments.

Controversial Issues and Hot Topics Databases

Perhaps you have to write a paper or do a speech about a current news item, a social issue, a controversial topic, etc.  The Alkek Library provides several resources to help you:

  • Decide on a paper or speech topic
  • Get background information
  • Find good keywords to use for your search
  • Discover context
  • Find pro & con arguments about a position
  • Point you to websites, books, and scholarly articles.

Controversial Issues Databases and Sources

The Alkek Library provides access to many Pro/Con and Hot Topic Databases.

Here are several different websites and databases to get background information on various controversial issues or hot topics. 

You can access these by choosing Pro/Con Issues & Hot Topics from the dropdown menu under Browse Databases by Type:

Pro/Con Databases

Alt-Press Watch from ProQuest  

Multi-subject articles from approximately 200 alternative and independent presses.

Alternative Press Index from Ebsco 

Cultural, economic, political & social change. Alternative, radical, & left viewpoints from over 300 international periodicals & newspapers.

Congressional Digest Pro & Con Online from Congressional Digest Corp. 

Online searchable version of the Congressional Digest, an authoritative impartial source for information on controversial topics. Subscription does not include Supreme Court Debates and International Debates.

CQ Researcher from CQ Press 

In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs.

Gallup Brain from The Gallup Poll 

The Gallup Brain is a searchable, living record of more than 70 years of public opinion that includes the answers to more than 125,000 questions and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by The Gallup Poll since 1935.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context from Gale -Cengage Learning 

Current social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.

Points of View Reference Center from Ebsco 

Multiple sides of current issues for debates and position papers. Each topic features an overview/objective background , point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Contains leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents (such as testimonies to congress) & reference books.

Ask a Librarian

Specialized Collections Librarian

Print Series

Print Resources

TexShare

  • All current Texas State students and employees are eligible.
  • Cards are valid for 1 long semester.
  • Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.
  • You are responsible for any charges for lost or damaged materials. 
  • Students that do not return items will have "holds" placed on their records. This will prevent you from registering for classes, obtaining transcripts or grades, etc.
  • For questions about TexShare contact the Checkout Desk at 512.245.3681 or via email.