Becoming a liaison librarian relates the path of a higher education academic librarian into becoming a fully embedded liaison librarian. Topics covered include providing students with access to interconnected knowledge, keeping abreast with digital technologies as systems librarian and liaising for the departments of Mathematics and Statistics and the College of Engineering and Computing. Also cited are work in facilitating book requests of the faculty, connections and pedagogic tools for online instructions.
From one-shot sessions to embedded librarian shares lessons learned from the practice of collaborative work between librarians, faculty and administrators for increasing campus literacy. Topics covered include moving beyond the traditional one-shot model into a full embedded team, development of librarian-faculty relationship and early librarian encounter of students. Also mentioned are recording all aspects of collaboration, testing the feasibility of teaching tools and techniques and flexibility in modifying methods.
Systematically understand faculty needs discusses use of the Zotero management tool by the Liaison Services (LS) of Baylor University Central Libraries. Topics include functions of Reference and Library Instruction (RLI) librarians and programs of the liaison departments such as Fine Arts, Science and Social Science under the Family and Consumer Sciences (FCS) Department. Also mentioned are Zotero search features for faculty connections and use of the Open Researcher and Contributor Identification (ORCID) profiles.
Making all the right moves for liaison engagement discusses a methodology for faculty engagement based on the concept of Moves Management. Topics covered include how the method involves move managers identifying a list of their prime donors and seeking to nurture highly personalized relationships with them and cultivating relationships to foster higher levels of interest and actions.
Fundamentals for the Academic Liaison handbook lays out the comprehensive fundamentals of the discipline, helping librarians build the confidence and cooperation of the university faculty in relation to the library. Readers will learn about connecting and assisting faculty and students through skillful communication and resource utilization with coverage of key topics such as: Orientation meetings; Acquiring Subject specialization; Advice on faculty communication and assistance; Online tutorial creation; Collection development; Information literacy instruction; Embedded librarianship; Library guides; New courses and accreditation; Evaluation methods.
Assessing Liaison Librarians: Documenting Impact for Positive Change
Librarians must be prepared to document the impact of the programs they create, the collections they develop, and the services they offer. Liaison librarians in academic libraries focus on engagement with academic units and outreach to students, faculty, and the community of scholars. This publication examines how academic libraries assess liaison activities and offers recommendations for documenting the impact of programs and services. Individual chapters address liaison activities relating to collection development; library instruction; research services; engagement and outreach; online, blended and other learning environments; scholarly communications and information technology; the importance of assessment in the 21st century research library; and professional development of liaisons librarians.
The Personal Librarian: Enhancing the Student Experience
Presents ideas for offering a Personal Librarian service, a flexible concept that focuses on customizing information literacy by establishing a one-on-one relationship between librarian and student from enrollment through graduation by: Defining personal librarianship and tracing how it has developed within the broader context of the work that librarians do; Demonstrating its radical potential to impact student learning, retention, and graduation rates; Discussing how the concept relates to embedded librarianship and academic library liaisons, and the role of faculty and staff; Illustrating how personalization can be supported by academic support centers, IT services, Student Affairs, and other college and university departments; Using case studies from a variety of institutions to show how to develop and implement a Personal Librarian program
Teaching Information Literacy Threshold Concepts: Lesson Plans for Librarians
A collection designed by instruction librarians to promote critical thinking and engaged learning. It provides teaching librarians detailed, ready-to-use, and easily adaptable lesson ideas to help students understand and be transformed by information literacy threshold concepts. The lessons in this book, created by teaching librarians across the country, are categorized according to the six information literacy frames identified in the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education (2015). This volume offers concrete and specific ways of teaching the threshold concepts that are central to the ACRL Framework and is suitable for all types of academic libraries, high school libraries, as well as a pedagogical tool for library and information schools.
From the Outside In:Using Environmental Scanning for Evidence-based Planning by Alexandra Simons, Irene Ke, Loretta Wallace-Univ. of Houston
Paper given at ACRL (2013) from University of Houston librarians (see their survey documents on TRACS). Good practical advice on designing surveys and interview questions. They used these methods to conduct scans in history, social work, business departments. Good tables of results and examples of survey/interview questions.
Outreach: What works? Essinger and Ke (2013) Collaborative Librarianship 52-58. - University of Houston
Environmental scans focused on outreach efforts by University of Houston librarians were conducted in 2007. This article is a 5-year checkup report. Findings are that strategy for outreach is essential but different between departments/disciplines. Keys are building relationships, which takes time. Results showed it usually took 3-5 years before the faculty would accept the librarian as part of the research team. The more time the librarian spent in the department, the sooner this happened in most cases. Librarians need to have the freedom to “steer their own ship” in responding to the needs of their departments. Liaisons must go to the faculty to build relationships and communicate in a variety of ways. Mobility and flexibility are the keys to successful outreach.
Engaging with library users: sharpening our vision as subject librarians for the Duke University Libraries
Written for the Duke University Libraries by "The Task Force on Subject Librarian Re-visioning" comprised of seven members/authors. It covers best practices of subject librarian liaisons. The areas covered are engagement, teaching and learning, research services, collection development, digital tools, scholarly communication, technical services, exhibits, fundraising, and outreach beyond the institution. The emphasis is on developing objective metrics that accurately measure current stakeholder needs as well as anticipating future developments.
Library Liaison Models - Bowling Green State University.
Literature review of fifteen articles about subject liaisons at academic libraries. The libguide authors ask readers of the this collection of literature to determine which models work and what are the duties of the liaisons.
Environmental Scanning: Discover What is Happening Outside of the Library Doors
Presented at the 2006 ILFA conference in Seoul, Korea. It explains the need for environmental scanning. By doing a scan, you serve the current needs of your patrons as well as anticipating their future needs. The author defines the former as microclimate and the latter as macroclimate.