Sign into Your EBSCO Account
Your Folder Saves Searches & Alerts, and More
My Custom allows you to set up your own folders to help you sort saved citations. Any folder you create can then also be Shared.
In your search results once you run a search, you'll click the blue folder icon to the right of each citation and you'll then have the option to add it to either the default My Folder or a custom folder you set up.
Helpful Features
The Share feature gives you a permalink to the entire search. You can use it to save for yourself to get back to the search you've spent time building, share it with classmates, share it with faculty.
Ebsco databases will offer the Share feature as well.
Because Start Your Research searches multiple database simultaneously, it's a great place to figure out a good search string. Once you figure out appropriate keywords for your research, you can take the search string and use it to start searches in other vendor platforms and databases. Once you run your search, use the Share feature to grab the permalink. Paste it back into your browser that that the search below yields the search string needed to paste into other databases.
The search below after it's rerun using the Share permalink will look like this. It removes the multiple search boxes and replaces them with parenthesis. Now it's ready to cut/copy and paste into whatever library database you use moving forward.
( women OR woman OR female* ) AND ( "higher education" OR "post secondary" ) AND ( leadership OR administration )
You can look at the bottom left corner of your search results for a list of Databases that Start Your Research pinged your keywords against. This can give you some idea of databases that are relevant to your research and a path to move forward with when figuring our which individual databases to search. It'll show the top six, but click Show More to view the full list.
Create Journal Alerts
Start Your Research, the search box on the library's homepage, is owned by Ebsco so it offers similar features as Ebsco databases. One way to set up publication alerts is to search by journal title as SO Journal Title/Source as shown below. You can set the options for Frequency and Articles Published Within the Last
Ebsco databases will display the blue toolbar below and offer Publications as a browse or search feature of journal titles. You can use this option to search alerts for specific journal titles.
