Citation Management
Consider using a citation management software, like Endnote, to help keep track of your citations for your bibliography and offers a Web and Desktop version. EndNote is a citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.
See Also: EndNote Web Tutorials | EndNote Desktop Tutorials | Desktop Styles Download
Zotero is a free, open-access tool developed by an independent, nonprofit organization that has no financial interest in your private information. The free version provides 300 MB of storage space and additional storage is available for a fee. Zotero lets you:
- Attach images, notes, and PDFs to your citations
- Organize and tag your citations into collections and folders
- Create bibliographies automatically as well as in-text citations
- Share references and research information with a group
See Also: Quick-Start Guide | Get Help with Zotero | Zotero FAQs | User Forums | ZoteroBib
Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators / Jason Puckett.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
- Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
Wesley-Nero, S., & Davis, D. (2024). Integrated Professional Learning: Boundary-spanning graduate leadership education with principals and district leaders. Journal of Educational Leadership & Policy Studies, 8, 1–24.
- Journals/Periodicals2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in Journals/Periodicals, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
Search Tips
Search by keywords/phrases and use Boolean searching.
Using "Quotation Marks" searches words as a phrase.
Limit search results by Date and Peer-Reviewed journals.
Truncation searches variations of a word by using the asterisk * symbol.
COUNSEL* will retrieve: counseling, counsel, counselors, counselor, counselled, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.