LibGuides: Journalism & Mass Communication: Databases & Articles

Newspaper Databases with Full Page Image Access

Newspaper and Primary Sources databases offer full page image access to newspapers, periodicals, and other types of publications.

You can also search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper using BrowZine.

This is a list of image database related to art and design, BUT if you need other types of images there are many more on the Image Databases page.

Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian magazine and newspaper advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. 1911-1955.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
ArtStor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
High-quality image and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else.
All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 This link opens in a new window
Over 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Grove encyclopedia of classical art and architecture This link opens in a new window
Essays on ceramics, metalwork, mosaics, painting and sculpture, art forms, artists, rulers, philosophers, architecture, archaeological sites and stylistic developments. 2000 BC to present.

OAIster This link opens in a new window
Full text articles, books, texts, audio files, videos, images, and datasets stored in over 1,100 open access repositories all over the world.
Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material on the cultural change between 1950-1975. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, and underground publications.
rhizome.org This link opens in a new window
Exhibition, creation, and preservation of of digital contemporary art. 1996 to present.

Communication Source
Communication, mass media, linguistics, speech-language pathology, and related fields. Incorporates the content of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts. 1915-present

ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window
Contains abstracts of articles and books published in the primary professional literature of communication studies .
ComAnalytics This link opens in a new window
Provides data about the relative publication performance of individual scholars and of departments of communication. Uses metrics such as journal impact ratings and rankings from the NCA study of doctoral program reputation.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Reports on a wide range of topics, with overviews, background and timeline of a topic, assessment of the current situation, tables and maps, pro/con statements from opposing positions. 1923 to present.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Includes reviews, critical analysis, film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and technical aspect. 1914 to present.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Current social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.

NewsBank - America's and World News This link opens in a new window
Thousands of U.S. and international news sources from around the world. It features most major U.S. news sources, including Texas newspapers, and many local and regional titles. Dates vary by title.

Check the Type drop down on the research databases page for more types of databases for your topic.