MC 5302: Research Methods: Research Databases

Academic Video Online - Among other subjects, includes Business and Economics Video Online.

Business Source Ultimate - Includes videos from the Harvard Business School Faculty Seminar Series, along wtih SWOT analyses and covers the topics of marketing, management, MIS, economics, finance, accounting, and international business.

LinkSource checks our other databases to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases. Sometimes you'll see this image:

• ABI Inform Global

Companies, products, business conditions, trends, corporate strategies, management techniques, accounting & auditing, banking, data processing, economics, finance, management, health care, human resources, insurance, marketing, advertising, real estate & telecommunications.

• Business Source Complete

Many full text articles, some full text proceedings. Investment, industry, company, & market research reports. Case studies, company profiles, & financial data.

• MarketLine Advantage

Company, industry, financial and country profiles that include company description, history, products, competitors and key employees. Industry profiles include segmentation, competitive landscape, leading companies,forecasts, economic performance, potential development and business environmental analysis. Case Studies offer concise evaluations of the latest innovative company strategies

• Market Share Reporter

Presents comparative business statistics. Arranged by four-digit SIC code, each entry features a descriptive title; data and market description; a list of producers/products along with their market share; and cites original sources.

• MarketResearch.com Academic

Full-text market research reports, tailored for the academic community. Business topics range from Beverages to Water Management.

• Nielsen Segmentation & Market Solutions

Market profile reports, demographics reports, lifestyle analysis reports, and PRIZM reports. Data are available for all 210 DMAs and 3,000 U.S. counties.

• Passport

A global market information database with extensive industry, company, country and consumer reports and statistics. Reports on emerging industries, country and consumer trends.

• Simply Analytics

Extensive demographic, business and marketing data from sources such as census data from 2000 and 2010,Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL® and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM® Data Packages.  

• SRDS Online

Advertising and marketing sources and research. Includes Digital Media, Consumer Magazine Media, Business Publication Media, Local Media by DMA, Newspaper Media, Radio Media, Out-of-Home Media, TV and Cable Media, Segmentation & Market Solutions, Print Circulation, and International Media Guides for Consumers and Newspapers Worldwide.

• University Reporter

This database requires individual registration before access. Click on “Register for a FREE Account” and follow the instructions. An email with an activation link will ONLY be sent to a Texas State email address. The MRI+ database provides summary tables of key audience and product usage data from a national probability sample of 27,000 households. Please see the MRI Internet User Guide for help or watch our YouTube video.

Did you find a citation but aren't sure how to decipher it? Use the Periodical List to search for the Journal Title, then piece by piece, find the Date, Volume, Issue, Pages, and Article Title.

Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.

Do you need the Web or Desktop version?

• Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
• Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
• Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.