Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Links for Finding Artists' Books & Zines
Artists' Books Collection
See all the artists' books and zines in the different locations in Alkek and the Archives & Research Center
See all the Zines at Alkek in the different locations. More will be added soon!
Useful Reference Books
A Short Guide To Writing About Art by
Call Number: N7476 .B37 2011 Checkout Desk, 3rd Floor
This best-selling text has guided tens of thousands of art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing.
RSS Feed of New Art & Design Titles!
COVID-19 Update: The Interlibrary Loan unit at Texas State has resumed normal operations. However, due to many libraries still being closed and not lending physical items, it may be difficult or slower than usual to obtain some items. Please be patient!
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
ILL is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.
Use ILLiad, the online Interlibrary Loan request, to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.
Contact & Pick-up Info:
512.245.4893 or email
with additional questions. Items can be picked up at the Checkout Desk on the 3rd floor of the Library.
Texshare - Check out a book from almost anywhere in Texas with one of these cards. Click for information.
Worldcat Searches thousands of libraries - built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.
Handouts for Finding Books
Below is a browsing map with different areas of inerest highlighted in yellow to use when you are looking for any image related subject, topic, or medium. Click on the image to download a printable PDF version of it and to see it better. :)
Finding Artists' Books
change the Keyword drop down to Subject and type in artists books and hit search.
|Click on image to see details
Then click on the first link that says Artists Books and you should see about 90 results (The page that this link lives on can also be an interesting page to explore what types of artists books we have). These are located in the general collection (open stacks), secured collections, and special collections. These will also include books about artists books or bookmaking. You could also do a keyword rather than subject search but they may not all be actual artists’ books.
To limit to only those in secured, you can click on Limit/Sort Search at the top of the page and choose Secured Collection in the Location selection box. You could also start a new catalog search change the Keyword drop down to Subject again then change the Search Entire Collection drop down to Special Collections and search with the keyword artists books again. This will show you all the artists books located in Special Collections.
Finding Books, eBooks, and other library materials
Use the Library Catalog
to search the main collection for print resources and ebooks. The
Library Catalog also provides location and availability details.
is a list of Call Number areas for Fine Arts and Design Resources for
general browsing purposes when searching for images. For specific
information see the section on how to use the Library Web Catalog for
searching for art related information.
|Drawing & Illustration
|Graphic Arts & Computer Graphics
||TR, NC, Z200
|Painters & Painting
|Sculpture & Sculptors