Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEO 3340: Political Geography.: Finding articles

This guide was created to support GEO 3340: Political Geography.

Where to Search

Use Research Databases to find articles on your topic.

Geography databases are most likely where you will research, but other subjects may also be helpful, especially the Multi-Subject Databases.

Many of the articles contain full-text, meaning that the actual article is available in the database.

Databases contain proprietary content from a variety of scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, and more.

Some databases contain content from only one publisher, such as Elsevier or Wiley, while others have content, or index articles, from a variety of publishers.

Periodical List


LinkSource
 checks our other databases to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases. Sometimes you'll see this image:

undefined

How to Search

Search by keywords and small phrases.

Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching:

 

AND
aquifer AND drought all words must appear in the result list
OR 
streamflow OR stream measurement
either word may appear in the results.
NOT 
San Marcos NOT California
must have San Marcos, but excludes items with California

Note:  some databases use "and not" rather than "not"

Use "quotation marks" to search for phrases. 

Use the database’s "help" feature to find the syntax for advanced searches. This varies by database

Consider truncation. The asterisk (*) symbol is used most often.

Typing in stand* will give results containing: stands, standing, standards, standardize, and etc.

Try using the database’s subject or descriptor terms. Those are listed in the database’s thesaurus, or they may be listed near the article abstract. These can be useful for learning the preferred vocabulary of a discipline.