Online Resources
The following boxes provide links to a only a sample of the online resources available to Texas State University Libraries' users. For full access to the available online resources please visit the Periodical List and Research Databases pages.
Key Management Journals
Key Human Resources Journals
Key Business Journals
Citation Indexes
Business and Management Databases
- ABI/Inform Global This link opens in a new window
Articles about economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, and taxation. 1971-present
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers investment; industry, company, & market research reports; case studies; SWOT analyses. 1886 to present.
- Checkpoint: Accounting & Auditing This link opens in a new window
Accounting & auditing library, expert RIA analysis, FASB, GASB, AICPA, PCAOB, International Accounting Standards and more. Coverage dates vary. Simultaneous user limit varies by product, from 2 to 35.
- Checkpoint: Tax & WGL Business Entity Treatise Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to tax resources such as U.S. Tax Reporter, Federal Tax Coordinator and resources from Warren, Gorham, & Lamont (WGL). Simultaneous user limit is 20. Users must create an account each semester.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and books for engineering, business, and social science research. Access is from first date of publication through 2019, for books, and to present for journals.
- Mergent Corporate, Municipal & Government Manuals This link opens in a new window
Corporate history, business descriptions, and detailed financial information on publicly traded companies. 1909 to 2021. Data on municipal securities is from 1918-2021. Simultaneous user limit is 50.
- Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new windowIndex of scholarly journals and other works on all aspects of national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. 1934-present.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowInteractive database of statistics that enables users to create tables, maps, and figures from a very wide range of data sources. International in scope. Data are organized by subject, source, and geography.
General Databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)Multi-subject. Animal science, anthropology, archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, history, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women’s studies, & zoology.
- Google ScholarMulti-subject resources from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities & other scholarly organizations
- JSTORMulti-Subject
- ProQuest DatabasesAn online database provider. Use the "Select Multiple Databases" link to search databases simultaneously.
Is it Peer-Reviewed?
Here are 2 suggestions for determining if an article is peer reviewed.
Library Databases: Some of the library's databases either have a field or indication that an entry is peer reviewed. Remember, "scholarly" is not the same as "peer reviewed."
Ulrichsweb: Search by either the title of the journal (not the article title) or by the journal's ISSN. If you see this icon, 
, then that is an indication the research articles in the journal are peer reviewed. This database uses "refereed" in place of "peer reviewed".
LibKey Nomad
What is LibKey Nomad?
- A browser extension to quickly link to PDF full-text journal articles provided through the University Libraries.
- Works with databases such as PubMed, UpToDate, Google Scholar, Scopus, and more.
- Can be used to link to full text resources from many, many journal/publisher websites.
When using a resource and full text is available you may see an image similar to the one at the top of this section.
How Do I Get the LibKey Nomad Browser Extension On My Computer?
This plug in can be added to a number of popular browsers from here: thirdiron.com/downloadnomad.
As you add the plug in make sure to choose Texas State University as the associated institution.