Online Resources
The following boxes provide links to a only a sample of the online resources available to Texas State University Libraries' users. For full access to the available online resources please visit the Periodical List and Research Databases pages.
Key Public Health Journals
Key Ethics/ Medical Ethics Journals
Nursing Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations.
Nursing Resources
- Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
3D interactive models of all systems in human anatomy; slides of MRI images, and cadaver specimens. Clinical specialties include speech & language pathology, otolaryngology, physical therapy, and sports medicine.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Assessment This link opens in a new window
Videos of physical examinations performed in clinical settings and head-to-toe evaluations for various age groups. Also emphasizes patient communication, health history, documentation and interview techniques. 2013.
- JAMAEvidence This link opens in a new windowTools for learning, teaching, and applying evidence-based medicine: calculators, critical appraisal worksheets, information cycle worksheets, glossary, and audio recordings by leading practitioners in the field.
Medical Databases
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource. Registration is required to earn CME, CE, or CPD credits. NOTE: To keep your personal login active and retain access on mobile device, you must access UpToDate using your NetID/password from a computer every 90 days and then also “Sign in” to the system using the link in the upper right-hand corner.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of evidence-based medicine databases including systematic reviews, controlled trials, methodologies, evaluations and technology assessments.
- JBI database of systematic reviews and implementation reports This link opens in a new windowSystematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research following the JBI methodology. 2003-present.
Systematic reviews may also be found using databases such as the following:
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations.
Definitive Healthcare
- Definitive Healthcare This link opens in a new window
In-depth database of hospitals, health systems, physician groups, and other healthcare providers. Data includes RFPs, diagnosis & procedures, certificates of need, GPOs, quality & compliance metrics, and technology infrastructure. Use is restricted.
Is it Peer-Reviewed?
Here are 2 suggestions for determining if an article is peer reviewed.
Library Databases: Some of the library's databases either have a field or indication that an entry is peer reviewed. Remember, "scholarly" is not the same as "peer reviewed."
Ulrichsweb: Search by either the title of the journal (not the article title) or by the journal's ISSN. If you see this icon, 
, then that is an indication the research articles in the journal are peer reviewed. This database uses "refereed" in place of "peer reviewed".
LibKey Nomad
What is LibKey Nomad?
- A browser extension to quickly link to PDF full-text journal articles provided through the University Libraries.
- Works with databases such as PubMed, UpToDate, Google Scholar, Scopus, and more.
- Can be used to link to full text resources from many, many journal/publisher websites.
When using a resource and full text is available you may see an image similar to the one at the top of this section.
How Do I Get the LibKey Nomad Browser Extension On My Computer?
This plug in can be added to a number of popular browsers from here: thirdiron.com/downloadnomad.
As you add the plug in make sure to choose Texas State University as the associated institution.