Using Reference Materials
Reference materials, including encyclopedias and dictionaries, can be used when you are starting your research to get background information.
They are great for giving you keywords that you can use when you start searching for articles on your topic in the library databases or on the web.
Check Credo Reference or Oxford Reference or all of our E-Reference Sources at Alkek Library
Streaming Video & Image Databases
We also have Image & Streaming Video Databases.
These inculde Anthropolgy and Medicine films.
Image Databases
Suggested Databases for Finding Journal Articles
Start Your Research tool searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials.
All Family and Consumer Sciences databases
Specific Databases:
- Culture Grams - basic country info
- Dissertations & Theses - look for dissertations and theses with or without literature reviews
- Ethnic NewsWatch
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide
- Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection (Expanded) - streaming video
- Humanities Source Ultimate
- JSTOR
- PAIS International and Archive (Public Affairs Information Service)
- SimplyAnalytics
- Social Sciences Full Text
- SocINDEX
- Sociological Abstracts
- Web of Science
- WorldCat
Biology Databases - see full list too
- BIOSIS Citation Index part of Web of Science
- Science Direct
- Springer eBook Collection (Expanded)
Health & Medicine Databases - please see the full list, these are only a few
- Alt-Health Watch
- CINAHL Complete
- MEDLINE Complete
- Native Health
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
- PubMed
Communication Studies databases
Psychology and Counseling databases