About Databases....
General Databases
See also the entire Theater & Performing Arts database and Newspaper databases, for more search options.
- Dance Education Literature and Research Descriptive Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes theses, dissertations, journal articles, conference proceedings and other reports in the area of dance education from 1926 to present.
- Humanities Source and Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
Literature Review Databases
These databases are useful for literature reviews and locating different sources.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to the most cited journal literature of the arts and humanities. Covers over 1100 journals spanning 25 disciplines. 1975 to present.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
- WorldCat (public version) This link opens in a new windowIndexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan. For more search options, use WorldCat on FirstSearch.
- Dance in Video This link opens in a new windowPerformances and productions by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th and 21st centuries. Search and browse by performer, dance company, technique, genre, choreographer, or venue. 1955 to present.
- Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new windowLarge international collection of contemporary recordings including The Voice of the People, a 20-volume series of English, Irish, Scottish, and Welsh traditional music.
- DRAM (Database of Recorded American Music) This link opens in a new window
Recordings by New World Records and other independent labels. Includes a wide range of genres. 1975 to present. NOTE: Safari is not a supported browser.
- Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Educational, close-captioned videos on all subject areas. Includes archival film and newsreels, documentaries and films from producers such as A&E, BBC learning, and PBS.An external tool is available in Canvas to embed Films on Demand videos.
- Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new windowThousands of recordings of jazz music by performers from legendary record labels. Browse by instrument category, genre and sub-genre, artist and ensemble. 1920s to present.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos from BBC, PBS, Documentary Educational Resources, Criterion Collection and others. The platform allows you to make playlists and clips, and share links.
- Music Online This link opens in a new windowAudio and video for teaching music. Spans all time periods.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Classical music from Medieval to contemporary. Access over 98,000 CDs from the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 375 classical, jazz and world music labels.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Combines essays from Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music, and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. Simultaneous user limit is 5.
Don't forget! You can access Google Scholar through the library website and have access to all the articles the library subscribes to.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.