LibGuides: DAN 4369: 20th Century Dance: Web Resources

Databases

Alvin Ailey Dance Company
Alvin Ailey Dance Foundation is the umbrella organization that supports the activities of Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, Ailey II, The Ailey School, Ailey Arts In Education & Community Programs and The Ailey Extension.
Congress on Research in Dance
A nonprofit organization that provides opportunities for dance professionals from a broad range of specialties to exchange ideas, resources, and methodologies through publication, international and regional conferences, and workshops.

Dance Heritage Coalition
The DHC is a national alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance.
International Dance Council
CID is the official umbrella organization for all forms of dance in all countries of the world.

National Dance Association
The National Dance Association (NDA/AAHPERD) leads in promoting and supporting creative, artistic and healthy lifestyles through quality services and programs in dance and dance education.

Open Directory: Dance
A directory of dance links to organizations, resources, and topics ranging from ballet to tribal fusion.

Society for Dance History Scholars
Advances the field of dance studies through research, publication, performance, and outreach to audiences across the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

American Ballet Theatre Ballet Dictionary
A useful collection of definitions and terminology for the study of ballet.
American Ballroom Companion
Presents a collection of over two hundred social dance manuals at the Library of Congress.

Andros on Ballet
Andros on Ballet is a collection of articles about ballet history and classical ballet technique written by Dick Andros, a ballet teacher and writer.
Claire Holt Collection of Indonesian Dance and Related Arts
Digital exhibit at the NYPL's digital gallery.

Contemporary Dance Research Guide
A guide to online resources created by Concordia University.

Cyberdance
Links to classical ballet and modern dance resources on the Internet.

Dance Notation Bureau Homepage
The long anticipated online catalog is now available to all patrons to view and search scores from the Dance Notation Bureau for educational, research, and performance purposes. This online catalog records extensive information covering notation, casting, production, music, media, archival, and permission and fee information.

Dance Research Resources
Database of finding aids for archival dance collections including materials at the San Francisco Performing Arts Library and Museum organized by the Dance Heritage Coalition.

The Dancing Master, 1651-1728: An Illustrated Compendium
A robust source on English folk dance.
George Balanchine Foundation-Research Resources
This guide concentrates primarily on George Balanchine's work for the ballet stage

History of Social Dance in America The illustrations and objects depicted in this exhibition provide a brief glimpse into the history of social dance.

Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival
A free video resource curated by America's longest running dance festival.

Jerome Robbins Dance Division, New York Public Library
The largest and most comprehensive archive in the world devoted to the documentation of dance.
Performing Arts in America 1875-1923
Performing Arts in America 1875 -1923, a web site of The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts, captures a glimpse of this world. With visual and audio images drawn from the extensive archival collections at The Library, the site features an authentic look at this past, from the Broadway theater and Tin Pan Alley to the art of dancer Loie Fuller and composer Charles Griffes, all brought to you in original documents.
U.S. Copyright Office-Choreographed Works
A collection of dance works copyrighted in the US.