Searching for Articles
Your professors will want you to use high-quality sources for your projects. Scholarly, peer-reviewed articles are excellent sources. Peer-reviewed means that experts in that field reviewed the articles before publication to check for such things as good methodology, relevancy, and impact to the field. Many of our databases let you check a box to limit the results to peer-reviewed articles.
If you searched for articles on the internet, you will most likely be asked to pay $35+ per article. However, you can access these for free through our library website! We subscribe to over 90,000 scholarly journals.
Start Your Research is a search box in the middle of the library website that searched most (but not all!) of our databases. It also searches our library catalog. This is a really good option for a multidisciplinary topic. For example, if you are researching a climatological phenomenon's impact on health, you may find results not only from climatology journals, but also health journals.
Start Your Research
- Start Your Research This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
Once you do a search, you can filter the results by options on the left side of the page. Filter options include full text, peer-reviewed, a specific date range, and material type.
Periodical List
You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper using Periodical List
Be sure to pay attention to years available.
Research Databases
Research Databases Research databases are mostly collections of scholarly journal articles, but some are not. Some contain newspaper articles, datasets, etc. We have organized the databases by title, by subject, and by type.
Recommended Databases
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowProvides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world including all publications of the US Geological Survey. Indexes scholarly journals, books, maps, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations. North American coverage: 1669 -present. International: 1933 to present.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
