Databases by Type
We have databases that are not necessarily collections of peer-reviewed articles. These databases are for different types of information, such as:
|
Career Guides |
Foreign Language Government Documents Grants and Scholarships Images K-12 Databases Literary Criticism Maps Market Research Music Criticism Theory Newspapers News Plays Poems Pre-1900 Texts Primary Sources Historical |
Pro Con Issues Hot Topics Quotations Reference Resources Short Stories Speeches Standardized Test Practice Exams Statistics Streaming Audio Streaming Video SWOT Analyses Teaching Tools Lesson Plans Tests and Measurements Timelines Chronologies Transcripts Writing Guides and Reference Tools |
Theses & Dissertations
- Theses & Dissertation DatabasesTheses & dissertations are great sources for information. Below are two recommended databases.
- University Scholarship This link opens in a new window
A digital collection of the intellectual output of Texas State University. Its purpose is to centralize, preserve, index and provide open access to the works created by Texas State faculty, staff, and students.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
Hot Topic Databases
We have some databases that cover hot topics in the news and controversial issues.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new windowCurrent social issues presented in topic pages with a variety of data on differing points of view.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowReports with overviews, background and timeline of a topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from opposing positions. Topics include health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, economy, and global affairs. 1923 to present.
Databases for Finding Statistics
Statistics Databases available to Texas State University users
Census & Demographic Databases available to Texas State University users
** Some overlap may exist in these 2 lists.
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowInteractive database of statistics that enables users to create tables, maps, and figures from a very wide range of data sources. International in scope. Data are organized by subject, source, and geography.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowExtensive demographic, business and marketing data from sources such as census data from 2000 and 2010,Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM Data Packages. Coverage: 2000-present. 10 simultaneous users.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowStatistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 1878 to present.
Citation Analysis Databases
- Web of ScienceCurrent and retrospective multidisciplinary high impact research journals, conference proceedings, and books from around the world. Approximately 12,000 journals included, 150,000 conference proceedings, and 275,000 books and book chapters.
- Journal Citation ReportsAnnual analysis of scholarly journals in sciences, social sciences & humanities. Objectively determines the relative importance of journals within their subject categories. Information for each title includes the "impact factor" (measurement of the frequency with which the average article has been cited in a particular year) and the "immediacy index" (how quickly the average article in a journal is cited).
- Data Citation IndexPart of the Web of Knowledge, the Data Citation Index fully indexes a significant number of the world's leading data repositories of critical interest to the scientific community, including over two million data studies and datasets.