Key Databases for CDIS Research
- Communication Source This link opens in a new windowLarge database indexing publications worldwide pertaining to communication, advertising, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, and media studies. 1915 to present.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations.
Evidence-Based Resources
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of evidence-based medicine databases including systematic reviews, controlled trials, methodologies, evaluations and technology assessments.
- JBI database of systematic reviews and implementation reports This link opens in a new windowSystematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research following the JBI methodology. 2003-present.
- speechBITE This link opens in a new window
Index of evidence-based practices for speech pathologists, including systematic reviews, trials, clinical practice guidelines and more.
Other Databases Worth Considering
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Indexes nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters, and health pamphlets. 1980-present.
- LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection This link opens in a new windowJournals of interest to nursing, allied health, and health administration students and professionals. Current.
Other Databases Not Primarily Health Professions
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowScholarly research covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900 to present.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
Complete List of Databases (Multi-Discipline)
Is it Peer Reviewed?
Here are 3 suggestions for determining if an article is peer reviewed.
Library Databases: Some of the library's databases either have a field or indication that an entry is peer reviewed. Remember, "scholarly" is not the same as "peer reviewed."
Ulrichsweb: Search by either the title of the journal (not the article title) or by the journal's ISSN. If you see this icon, 
, then that is an indication the research articles in the journal are peer reviewed. This database uses "refereed" in place of "peer reviewed".
Serials Directory: Search by the journal's ISSN and limit to the field "IS ISSN (No Dashes)". Make sure to enter only enter the 8 digits removing the dash if present. This resource will indicate if an entry is peer reviewed by showing the field "Peer Reviewed: Yes" in an entry. If the resource is not peer reviewed or if this resource cannot provide that information the "Peer Reviewed" line will be omitted.