| Interlibrary Loan - TexShare |
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996 or email. Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library.
- TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at participating libraries.
Related Book Awards
Tomas Rivera Mexican American Children's Book Award | @TxState Awarded by Texas State University's College of Education to honor authors and illustrators who create literature that depicts the Mexican American experience. The award was established in 1995 and was named in honor of Dr. Tomas Rivera, a distinguished alumnus.
Pura Belpré | @TxState Established in 1996, the award is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
Américas Award | @TxState Founded in 1993 to encourage and commend authors, illustrators and publishers who produce quality children’s and young adult books that portray Latin America, the Caribbean, or Latinos in the United States.
Library Catalog
- Library CatalogThe Library Catalog is like a store catalog - it's a list of items available at the University Libraries. Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation.
- Start Your ResearchBooks, eBooks, and multimedia can also be searched using Start Your Research by limiting a search to Library Catalog.
- Google BooksSearches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database. Books are provided either by publishers and authors or by Google's library partners through the Library Project. Additionally, Google has partnered with a number of magazine publishers to digitize their archives.
- WorldCatIndexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan.
Books about:
In addition to Spanish language material, the Library's 3rd floor Juvenile Collection has many books in: native languages, Chinese, Vietnamese, Korean, Russian, Arabic, Japanese, Italian, Urdu, French, German
Dreamscape Media Read-a-Long DVDs are also available
A related collection, Scholastic Guided Reading, is available at Alkek Library. Each set can be checked out for 2 weeks and renewals are also allowed. The collection offers the Fiction, Nonfiction, Content, and Spanish sets.
The TCMC K-12 Textbook Collection on the 3rd Floor of the Library houses books currently in adoption as well as some recently out of adoption. TCMC ESL content is available for all grade levels.
The Round Rock campus (RRC) library offers the RRC Juvenile Collection of their own as well.
Be sure to check our Juvenile Exhibit case on the 3rd floor to see what new titles we've added.