PS 3301: Political Institutions

This guide is intended to help students in Political Science 3301 Basic Political Institutions class. This guide will give you links to some of the databases and websites you will find helpful for your research. 

Reference materials are helpful when you are looking for background information or authoritative facts on a subject. 

This database will help to locate a wealth of information in on a broad range of topics in quality reference sources.  

Concise Oxford dictionary of politics    This dictionary covers political thinkers, institutions, and concepts, the dictionary has an international perspective.

Congressional Quarterly Almanac. Congressional Quarterly, 1955-Congressional Quarterly almanac tells the story of Congress for the year.  It is a condensation of acts, amendments, committee activity, debates, hearings, investigations, vital statistics on lawmakers, party policies and votes. 

Princeton encyclopedia of American Political History This reference work is intended to provide,  authoritative and up-to-date articles on political history of America.  Major issues, themes, institutions, processes, and developments as they have been manifest throughout the whole of United States history, from before the decision for independence to the present are discussed.

Encyclopedia of American Public Policy by Byron M. Jackson. ABC-CLIO, 1999. 
A highly competent and authoritative resource that will answer a wide variety of questions regularly asked by students studying history, government, economics, and other topics in the social sciences.

Handbook of Party Politics  The contributors to this work provide a survey of the major theoretical approaches to the subject of the role of parties in the pressing contemporary problems of institutional design and democratic governance.

CQ’s Politics in America 

The Oxford Handbook of American Political Parties and Interest Groups  An essential guide to the study of American political life in the 21st century. With engaging new contributions from the major figures in the field of political parties & interest groups, this handbook is a key point of reference for anyone working in American politics.

World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties  Nations are described in terms of systems and organizations of government, as well as the processes through which political parties or interests bring their influence to bear on government.