The Special Collections and Archives at Texas State University is home to more than 2 million printed volumes and records, photographs, maps, prints, and audio-visual items. We offer primary source materials for a diverse community of researchers, who range from K-12 and TXST students, as well as scholars around the world. We collect in a variety of subject disciplines, a sampling of which includes water preservation, transportation, geography, and local San Marcos history, as well as university records and archives.
Learn more about our collections by browsing our Finding Aids, or visit the Special Collections and Archives website or contact us with questions or to schedule a workshop or visit.
The archival collections are stored in the University Libraries Archives and Research Center, a climate-controlled high-pile facility for long-term preservation. Materials are available to view at the Archives and Research Center Reading Room or at the Alkek Library. Contact us to schedule an appointment.
The Special Collections and Archives works with our Digitization and Preservation Lab to provide online access to archival materials in the collections whenever possible. Explore these online archival resources in the Digital Collections.
Curated Digital Exhibits feature primary source research from our archival collections. These exhibits are put together by university researchers, staff, students, and archive partners. Browse the Digital Exhibits available in Omeka S.
The Texas State University Libraries is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. The government documents collection is available to Texas State University researchers, as well as the local community.