Skip to main content

Biology: Reference Materials

Subject Librarian

Jerry Weathers's picture
Jerry Weathers
Contact:
Alkek Library
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666
512-245-3004

Select Reference Titles

Audubon Society Encyclopedia of Animal LifeQL50 .A92
Dictionary of ZoologyOnline
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia — QL3 .G7813 2003
 

Amphibians and Reptiles

Encyclopedia of SnakesQL666.O6 M37 1995
New Field Book of Reptiles and AmphibiansQL644 .C6

Behavior
Dictionary of Animal Behaviour - Online
Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior - OVERSIZE QL750.3 .E524 2010

Birds
Audubon Society Encyclopedia of North American BirdsQL681 .T43 1980
Birder's Handbook: A Field Guide to the Natural History of North American Birds — QL681 .E37 1988
Birds of North America — Online
Cambridge Encyclopedia of OrnithologyQL672.2 .C35 1991
Distribution and Taxonomy of Birds of the WorldOVERSIZE QL678 .S54 1990

The new encyclopedia of birds - Online
Encyclopedia of BirdsOVERSIZE QL672.2 .E53 1998
Field Guide to Western BirdsQL683.W4 P4 1990

Handbook of Bird Biology​
Handbook of the Birds of the World — OVERSIZE QL673 .H265 1992
Illustrated Encyclopedia of Birds: The Definitive Reference to Birds of the World — QL672.2 .I45 1990

Endangered Species
Encyclopedia of Endangered Species — QL81.5 .E525 1999
Official WWF Guide to Endangered Species of North America — QL84.2 .O35 1990
World Wildlife Fund Guide to Extinct Species of Modern Times — QH75 .W675 1997

Fish
Encyclopedia of Fishes — OVERSIZE QL614.7 .E535 1998

Insects

American Insects: A Handbook of the Insects of America North of Mexico — OVERSIZE QL474 .A76 1985
Butterflies of North America — QL548 .B76 2003
Encyclopedia of Insects — Online

Mammals

Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Mammals — QL701 .G7913 1990
New Encyclopedia of Mammals — OVERSIZE QL703 .E53 2001
Walker's Mammals of the World — QL703 .W222 1999

Dictionary of Biology — QH302.5 .D54
Dictionary of Modern Biology — QH302.5 .R83
Elsevier's Dictionary of Biology — QH302.5 .E4
Concise Encyclopedia Biology — QH302.5 .A2313
 
Henderson's Dictionary of Biological Terms — QH302.5 .H65
 
Nature protocols
 
Penguin dictionary of biology
Cambridge Dictionary of Biology — QH302.5 .C46
 
Collins Dictionary of Biology
 
Blackwell’s Concise Encyclopedia of Ecology    
Conservation and Environmentalism: An Encyclopedia   GE10 .C68
Dictionary of Biodiversity
Dictionary of Ecology
Dictionary of Environment and Ecology     
Dictionary of Ecology, Evolution and Systematics   QH540.4 .L56
Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science  QH540.4 .M3
Environmental Encyclopedia   GE10 .E58
Handbook of Climate Change and Biodiversity
Life on earth: an encyclopedia of biodiversity, ecology, and evolution   QH541.15.B56 L54
Oxford handbook of environmental history
McGraw-Hill dictionary of environmental science
Cambridge encyclopedia of Darwin and evolutionary thought
Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution — GN281 .C345 1992
Dictionary of GeneticsOnline
Encyclopedia of Evolution
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory — OVERSIZE GN281 .E53 1988
Encyclopedia of Genetics, genomics, proteomics, and bioinformatics - QH431 .E62 2005
Glossary of Genetics in English, French, Spanish, Italian, German, Russian — QH431 .B53
Life on earth : an encyclopedia of biodiversity, ecology, and evolution - QH541.15.B56 L54 2002
Wiley-Blackwell student dictionary of human evolution
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology — QR81 .A5 2000 c.2
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology QR81 .B46 2001
Clinical Microbiology Procedures Handbook
Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology - QH575 .D55 2007
Dictionary of microbiology and molecular biology - Online
Dictionary of Virology - QR358 .M34 2009
Encyclopedia of Microbiology Online
Encyclopedia of Virology Online
Handbook of Microbiological Media  Online
Illustrated dictionary of microbiology - Online
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology: A Comprehensive Desk Reference — OVERSIZE QH506 .M66155 1995
Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology Online
Practical Handbook of Microbiology Online
Ready reference for microbes QR75 .B7665 2012  
Springer Nature Experiments

Plants

Cambridge Illustrated Glossary of Botanical TermsOnline
CRC World Dictionary of Plant Names — OVERSIZE QK13 .Q38 2000
Dictionary of plant sciences - Online
Hutchinson dictionary of plant names - Online
Penguin Dictionary of Plant Sciences — QK9 .P46 1999
Plant identification terminology : an illustrated glossary - QK9 .H37 2001
Plants and Their Names: A Concise Dictionary — QK96 .P35 1995

Fungi

Ainsworth & Bisby's Dictionary of the FungiQK600.35 .A35 2001

Atlas of clinically important fungi

Fungal families of the world

The identification of fungi : an illustrated introduction with keys, glossary, and guide to literature - QK603 .D87 2006
Microfungi on miscellaneous substrates : an identification handbook -  QK603.2 .E46 1998

Loading ...