US 1100: University Seminar

The Alkek Library has a variety of reservable and open spaces with technology to support library patrons who want to:

Explore. Create. Discover

• Learn more about spaces available for faculty, staff, and students

• Submit a Reservation Request

A lot of the content you'll find online will be organized into a type of database. This means you can search them using the same tricks and techniques you use to search library databases.

This page will give pointers on phrase searching and Boolean Operators. Ask a Librarian to get more help with search strategies.

Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals. Many Research Databases are searched via Start Your Research, but not all. The library subscribes to hundreds of databases for you to use. These function as search engines for published articles. Many of the databases contain full-text articles, meaning that the actual article is available there. Databases contain proprietary content from a variety of scholarly journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, and more.

Every Bobcat, no matter what their major is, has access to the University Libraries' wide array of experts, creative spaces, technology, and academic resources (print and digital). Seize the opportunities and resources available to you now as a member of the Texas State community. Use the library to make the most of your investment in yourself and your education. Save money and develop a Growth Mindset along the way.

A growth mindset means not seeing failure as a way to describe yourself but as a springboard for the growth and development of your abilities. Your intelligence and talents are all susceptible to growth.

• Book & Article Delivery Service

• Research Guides
• Short Research Tutorials 
• TexShare Cards - Borrow from Participating Texas Libraries
• Interlibrary Loans

Equipment available for checkout and their checkout locations are listed in the catalog. Most equipment can be checked out for 7 days. Calculators, chargers, and cables check out for 2-4 hours.

Return equipment to the desk you checked it out from. Items returned late may accrue fines.

Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details.

Start Your Research searches can also be limited to books/eBooks by marking the "Library Catalog" option on the left.

Collections of eBooks can also be searched directly on their publisher platforms like EBSCO eBook Collection and ProQuest eBook Central.

Titles on "academic writing" may also come in handy.

Keyword series

Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details.