About This Guide
How to use this guide:
- Read through the guide - Practice on the tutorial - Research like a pro!
- Have questions? Use the links in the box below right to contact me!
Please note: most of the videos and images use the Advanced Search feature in Start Your Research. Other databases may look different, but most operate the same way.
Quick Links
Databases:
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new window American Chemical Society journals; Chemical & Engineering, News; and Advances in Chemistry. 1879-present
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window Contains physical science data, and physical property data of common compounds, both inorganic and organic. Latest edition.
- Royal Society of Chemistry This link opens in a new window The full journal archive, plus current issues of the core collection of journals and ebooks by the leading publisher in chemistry. 1841 to present
- SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window Registion is required for useTo prepare , please add registration@cas.org and passwordreset@cas.org to your Safe Senders list in your Bobcatmail settings (gear icon) in order to receive email from CAS.Next, register and create an account using this linkChemical and related scientific information from Chemical Abstracts Service. Includes patent & journal references from all scientific disciplines, substance information, chemical reactions, regulated chemicals information, and commercially available substances. Mid 1800s to present.
Keeping Current
Use these tools to stay up-to-date in your field!
| Browzine | LibKey Nomad |
| Use the app on your computer or phone to have complete journal issues delivered to your bookshelf when they are published. | Use this browser extension to immediately see if a journal article you find online is available at Texas State University Libraries. |
| https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ |
Current Chemistry Research
There are many ways to find out what's current in your field - it can even be fun!
Try these podcasts:
- Multiple podcasts from Chemistry World (from the Royal Society of Chemistry)
- Stereo Chemistry (from Chemical & Engineering News)
- Analytical Chemistry Podcast (from ACS)
- Orbitals: Chemistry Podcast (from ACS)
- Tiny Matters (from ACS)
You can also set up your Browzine journal shelves - and have the most recent issue of any journal automatically sent to your shelf! Available on your desktop or as a phone app.
- BrowZine This link opens in a new windowBrowse thousands of top academic journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles. Stay Current by creating a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new issue and new article notifications.
