The Media and the Message
- Madeleine Albright and Warren Christopher on Media and Foreign Policy
- Two former Secretaries of State talk about the impact of media on foreign policy. Paley Center for Media, June 18, 2007. Available for viewing at the Paley Center.
- Split Vision: The Portrayal of Arabs in the American Media
- Edited by Edmund Ghareeb. Revised and Expanded edition. Washington, D.C., American-Arab Affairs Council, 1983. Available?
- Leading to the 2003 Iraq War: The Global Media Debate Alexander G. Nikolaev and Ernest A. Hakanen. New York, Palgrave Macmillan, 2006. Rutgers-restricted Access
Historical Accounts
- Proquest Historical Newspapers: Combined Search
- search across the six ProQuest historical newspapers that the Libraries subscribe to: the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the New York Times (1851- three years prior to the current year), the Philadelphia Inquirer (November 7, 1860 – December 31, 2001), the Pittsburgh Gazette (August 29, 1786 – December 31, 2003), the Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), and the Washington Post (1877-2005). Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Historical New York Times
- Allows you to search and display the full image of articles published in the New York Times back to 1851. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Historical Washington Post
- Search and display the full image of articles published in the Washington Post between 1877 and 2005. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
- Full-text database of 500 newspapers published between 1800 and 1900. Rutgers-restricted Access.
Contemporary Accounts: U.S. Media
- Access World News
- Access to the full text of over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Westlaw Campus Research
- "News" portion indexes the full text of many newspapers.Rutgers-restricted Access
- Factiva
- A vast archive which includes the full-text of 8,000 leading newspapers(including the New York Times), magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and television and radio transcripts. Ten to twenty year+ backfile for many titles. Rutgers-restricted Access.
- CNN - MIddle East
- Major news network
- TV-NewsSearch: The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
- Index to material in the collection of the Vanderbilt Television News Archive; includes access through Online Streaming Video to thousands of hours of NBC and CNN news broadcasts, as well as abstracts to nightly news programs broadcast by the other national television networks. Rutgers-restricted Access
Contemporary Accounts: Non-U.S. Media
- Al Jazeera English
- The highly respected English-language news and current affairs channel based in Qatar.
Want More?
To find other books and materials on newspaper and other media portrayal of Islam and the Middle East, search Advanced QuickSearch using SUBJECT Contains
