| Citation Management |
Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.
Do you need the Web or Desktop version?
- EndNoteA citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.
Search Tips
Search by keywords/small phrases and use Boolean searching. Works well in library databases, Google Scholar can do it to some extent under Advanced Search.
AND: "special education" AND disproportion*
OR: "social media" OR twitter OR "tiktok"
| "social media" | OR | OR | tiktok | |
| AND | ||||
| youth* | OR | teen* | OR | adolescen* |
| AND | ||||
| "mental health" | OR | "psychological health" |
The search boxes get translated into a ( text search string ) that can be read by any database.
( "social media" OR twitter OR tiktok ) AND ( youth* OR teen* OR adolescen* ) AND ( "mental health" OR "psychological health" )
Using "Quotation Marks" searches words as a phrase, "young adult". Works in library databases and Google Scholar
Limit search results by Date and Peer-Reviewed journals.
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *. Useful technique, but only works in library databases.
ATHLET* will retrieve: athlete, athletic, athletics, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider in your search. This only applies to library databases, as Google Scholar is only keyword searching, but keep an eye out for various terms you read in articles.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
- Start Your Research (SYR)1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
- Periodical List (PL)2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in PL, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
The example below shows that The Journal of Continuing Higher Education is accessible in print/microform as well as online. The entry also shows coverage dates to indicate which years are accessible.
