Health Administration Reference Items
If you need background information on a health administration topic or are looking for definitions for health care and medical terms, see these databases, ebooks and print books. Print books can be found in Alkek Library. Need help? Ask us!
Reference Databases
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks, ebooks, and videos published by Sage and CQ Press. 2000 to present
- Merck Manual: professional version This link opens in a new windowThe authoritative source for concise and correct diagnosis and therapy information. Includes symptoms overviews, clinical calculators, conversion tables, drug tables, and normal laboratory values. Current.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States This link opens in a new windowStatistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. 1878 to present.
Reference Ebooks
The American heritage dictionary of medicine
The brand-new American Heritage Dictionary of Medicine reflects the latest developments in medicine, with entries featuring newly approved medications, advances in genetics and immunology, recent changes in the terminology of diseases and syndromes, and new psychiatric classifications introduced in DSM-5.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781785395789Publication Date: 2015
Taber's cyclopedic medical dictionary by
This book puts the language of nursing, medicine and the healthcare professions at your fingertips. Covering nearly every health care profession, this book reflects the most current healthcare information.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781786842961Publication Date: 2017
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine by
""Features information on over 2,050 medical topics, including diseases/disorders and tests/treatments, in language accessible to adult laypersons"-Provided by publisher"--
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780028666570Publication Date: 2020-04-03
A Dictionary of Business and Management by
This wide-ranging and authoritative dictionary contains over 7,100 entries covering all areas of business and management, including marketing, organizational behaviour, business strategy, law, and taxation. In its sixth edition, it features the very latest developments, such as those relatingto information technology (including mobile technology), and the financial crisis and the subsequent sovereign debt crisis. Entries have been updated to refer to recent events and news in the field, for example the LIBOR scandal.Over 100 new entries have been added including bitcoin, Cog's Ladder, mobile commerce, Six Sigma, social media, theory of institutional deficiencies, and zero-hours contract. Furthermore, there is expanded coverage of areas such as financial regulation and corporate social responsibility, with anumber of new entries offering insight into these topics, including aw-shucks defence and Financial Conduct Authority.The new edition of this established bestselling dictionary elucidates modern financial and management jargon, defining entries in a clear, concise, and accessible manner. With recommended web links for many entries, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Business and Managementcompanion website, this edition is more informative than ever. This A--Z reference work is essential for business students, teachers and professionals, and useful for anyone needing a guide to business terminology.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9780199684984Publication Date: 2016-04-18
International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies by
The International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies is a definitive description of the field, spanning individual, organizational, societal, and cultural perspective in a cross-disciplinary manner. Editors Stewart R. Clegg and James R. Bailey have sought to capture much of the cutting-edge thinking that characterizes the best scholarship internationally. The Encyclopedia is thoroughly cross-referenced and entries are based around a series of broad themes. Key Features - Offers a comprehensive overview of many of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterise this diverse field of organization studies - Illustrates the fluidity, dynamism, and innovation that now occur in organization studies-internationally - Brings together a team of international contributors from the fields of: Management, Psychology, Sociology, Communications, Education, Political Science, Public Administration, Anthropology, Law and other related areas. - Examines how organizations are devices for structuring life and lives are structured by organizations Key themes include organization; Careers Struture Design Communications Cultures Diversity Innovation Change Strategy Power Leadership Learning Knowledge Ethics Theory Research Conflict Politics
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781412915151Publication Date: 2007-08-28
Reference Print Books
- Hospital statistics (American Hospital Association : 1998)Latest edition: 2022
Location: Alkek General, Floor 6
Call No. RA981.A2 A6234
The Merck Manual of Medical Information by
Packed full of essential information in an easy-to-read style The Merck Manual Of Medical Information is the home reference guide for all health conscious readers. For the past twenty years the publishers of The Merck Manual, one of the most widely used sources of medical information in the world, realised that more and more copies of the guide were being purchased by people who were no healthcare professionals, despite the fact that it had never been advertised and was not written for public use. Recognising the public's increasing need for access to the same medical information doctors have, Merck responded with the Home Edition. This contained virtually all the information in the physician's version, but in easy-to-understand everyday language, with a reader-friendly format. Since its publication three years ago the Home Edition has gone on to sell more than 2 million copies worldwide. Now Merck have updated the edition to cater for the changing medical environment. The new edition contains 35 new chapters on subjects ranging from Gene Therapy and the warning signs of cancer to biological warfare and terrorism and with 64 new illustrations and colour plates along with new tables
Call Number: RC81 .M535 2003ISBN: 0911910352Publication Date: 2003-04-29
- The Almanac of Hospital Financial and Operating IndicatorsCall Number: RA981.A2 A58 2019
Location: Alkek Checkout Desk - Reserve, Floor 3
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management, 12 Volume Set by
The second edition of this flagship business and management reference work is divided into 12 individual subject volumes and an index and includes a brand new volume on Entrepreneurship: Comprises over 6500 specially commissioned and carefully edited entries Written and edited by international teams of over 1500 of the world's best scholars and teachers Features extended bibliographies of relevant, wider, international literature and the foremost global scholarship in each field Flexible, multi-level use, maintained and further extended by sophisticated cross-referencing both among individual encyclopedia entries and between volumes and external sources Available online, for the first time, via the EBSCO database and linked to wider literature and to an associated Blackwell Library Online, consisting of a selection of Blackwell Handbooks and Journals in the field. Register with us to receive updates on this landmark project at www.managementencyclopedia.com where you will find further details, a special pre-publication offer and, coming soon, contributor browsing features.
Call Number: HD30.15 .B455 2005ISBN: 9780631233176Publication Date: 2005-02-14
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management by
Since publication in 1996 there have been tremendous advances in business and management which have necessitated the development of a new, improved second edition. IEBM 2nd Edition addresses these advances by updating all existing material as well as adding a great deal more. This revision means that the printed encyclopedia now fills 8 volumes with fifty percent more entries and four million words. Additional countries are profiled in the new edition and there are even more biographical profiles of influential management thinkers, making IEBM 2nd Edition bigger and better than ever. Full-length entries, equivalent to any secondary critical work or journal paper, serve as excellent introductions to the debates and literature of a given topic or concept. Each entry is fully cross-referenced and a further reading section is carefully annotated to indicate the level and importance of the work cited which proves especially useful for the student to take their research further.
Call Number: HF1001 .I53 2002ISBN: 9781861521613Publication Date: 2002-01-01
