Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is like a store catalog - it's a list of items available at the University Libraries.
Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation. To find ebooks, change the drop-down menu from Search Entire Collection to E Books.
You can search for Health Administration but also try using the following terms:
- Public Health Administration
- Health Services Administration
- Health Facilities Administration
- Health Planning
- Hospitals Administration
- Medical Centers Administration
- Nursing Homes Administration
Be aware that "healthcare" can be found in two ways: "healthcare" and "health care". When performing keyword searches, use both terms.
Library of Congress Call Numbers
When you search the library catalog and find a book you'd like to check out. Use the call number and location to find it in the library. See the floor maps for help with locating books and other materials in the library.
Below are call number ranges for Health Administration books and materials.
If you need help finding books or ebooks, ask us! We're here to help!
| Call Number | Description |
|---|---|
|
K 3566-3578 |
Public health |
|
KF 1-9827 |
Federal Law [as it relates to health care and employment law] |
|
RA1-418.5 |
Medicine and the state |
|
RA 399 |
Regulation of medical practice. Evaluation and quality control |
|
RA 407-409.5 |
Health status indicators. Medical statistics and surveys |
|
RA 410-410.9 |
Medical economics. Economics of medical care. Employment |
|
RA 960-1000.5 |
Medical centers. Hospitals. Dispensaries. Clinics |
eBook Collections
In addition to searching the library catalog for ebooks, you can search the library's ebook collections. Select collections are below. See all the library's ebook collections here.
- Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowEnglish language books published by Springer since 2005 covering a variety of subjects. Some book series and Lecture Notes from 1995 to present.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new windowAcademic, science, technology, and medical books from Taylor & Francis and its imprints, CRC Press, Routledge, and Garland.
- O'Reilly This link opens in a new windowSkill development and certification guides in a wide range of technology including artificial intelligence, enterprise business applications, game development, mobile applications, operating systems, programming languages, and much more. Current editions.
- IET Digital Library This link opens in a new windowEngineering & Technology books offering new perspectives and developments in emerging subject areas like healthcare technologies and cyber security, as well as traditional engineering. 2009- present.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks, ebooks, and videos published by Sage and CQ Press. 2000 to present
- Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowEnglish language books published by Springer since 2005 covering a variety of subjects. Some book series and Lecture Notes from 1995 to present.
- IG Library This link opens in a new window
Practical, concise books on engineering and business topics from Momentum Press and Business Experts Press which summarize information from lengthier scholarly works. 2011-present.
ILL - TexShare
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TXST students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the University Libraries does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.245.4893 or email. Items can be picked up at the Checkout Desk on the 3rd floor of the Alkek Library.
- TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at participating libraries.
Recommend a Purchase
The University Libraries has A LOT of information but by no means everything. If you have a suggestion for a book, e-book or some other item (not journals or articles) that you think the library ought to have in its collection, recommend a purchase to the library!