Databases
All Library Databases | Health Administration Databases | Health and Medicine Databases | Business Databases
Below are select databases to help you get started with finding peer-reviewed articles and data from data sets. See the links directly above to access all the library databases or library databases by subject. Questions? Please ask for help!
Need help with research? Meet with a librarian!
We're here to help! Submit this request to meet with a librarian for research help and a librarian will be in touch. It is helpful if you can include details about your research topic.
Need a research refresher? Check out DIY Research!
If you'd like to review the entire research process or just want a refresher on certain parts, take a look at DIY Research. It covers everything from getting started to in-depth research to quoting and citing and more!
Off-Campus Library Database Access
Find out about accessing the library databases when you are not on campus and what to do if you have trouble accessing a database.
Find Health Administration articles
- ABI/Inform Global This link opens in a new window Articles about economic conditions, management techniques, theory and practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, and taxation. 1971-present
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Covers investment; industry, company, & market research reports; case studies; SWOT analyses. 1886 to present.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window The main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Indexes nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters, and health pamphlets. 1980-present.
- LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection This link opens in a new windowJournals of interest to nursing, allied health, and health administration students and professionals. Current.
Find articles on Information Systems, Technology, Data Security
- IGI Global This link opens in a new window Peer-reviewed journals and select ebooks focusing on computer science, information science, and information technology. Coverage varies.
- Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window Contains the complete content of Industrial Arts Index (1913-1957) and Applied Science & Technology Index (1958-1983), plus select full text articles from 1965 to present.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window Current electrical engineering, electronics and computer science literature, featuring journals & conference proceedings from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering & Technology (IET) from 1950 to present. Current, archived, and redlined IEEE standards from 1988 to present.
Find data, not articles, on healthcare and hospitals in these data sets
- ICPSR This link opens in a new window Vast archive of social science data for use with statistical software such as SAS, SPSS, Stata and R. 1962 to present.
- Texas Health Data This site contains public data and statistics on various health topics. The data are intended to help you plan and improve delivery of services, evaluate health care systems, inform policy decisions, and aid in research. Other uses or disclosures are not permitted.
- Data.gov This link opens in a new window Provides access to over 250,000 datasets published by agencies across the U.S. federal government.
Find more articles on Health Administration topics
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window World's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
- Semantic Scholar This link opens in a new window Using Artificial Intelligence it analyzes scientific research papers and pulls out authors, references, figures, and topics to make connections. Topic pages provide definitions, a high-level view of important research, and trends in the literature over time.
Searching Multiple Databases/Multi-subject databases
- Start Your Research This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
- Omnifile Full Text, Mega Edition (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database appropriate for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work. Indexing 1982 to present, full text 1994 to present
Article not available? We'll check with other libraries!
First, make sure you try Full Text Finder. Look for this icon on database search results pages: 
Full Text Finder will search the library's databases to see if full text is available. If the full-text article is found in a different database, you will be provided with a link to it.
If it is not available full text, request it through ILLIAD. This prompts us to request the article from other libraries. Hint: if you use the link to ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.
The average turnaround time to receive an article if it is available from another library is about 23 hours. However, don't delay with starting your research!
Find out more about this service, which is called Interlibrary Loan.
Google Scholar
If you search Google Scholar, please consider configuring your Google Scholar account so that you will see the option FindIt@TxState. This options allows you to see if the full text of an article is available through the library.
Identifying Peer-Reviewed Journals
Already found an article in a journal and wondering if the journal is peer reviewed/refereed?
Search for the title or ISSN (International Standard Serial Number) in Ulrichsweb, a library resource that identifies which journals are peer reviewed/refereed. You won't find actual articles here, only information about journals in which articles are found.
The title will have this icon, 
,that looks like a referee's jersey next to it if the journal is peer reviewed/refereed.
Serials Directory is another way to see if a journal is peer reviewed. Search by journal title or ISSN.
If a journal is peer reviewed, you'll see in the journal record Peer Reviewed: Yes.
If the journal is not peer reviewed, you will not see in the journal record Peer Reviewed: Yes. It will be missing from the record.