Finding Musical Scores & Libretti...
The right song, right now for your next audition, performance or for study...
MusicalTheaterSongs.com is a subscription-based database for musical theater Repertoire. Find the right song, right now, for your next audition, performance or for study. Search 11,000 (and counting) titles spanning 150 years of shows, custom-tailor your search using up to 20 different parameters and over 100 descriptive tags, get direct links to sheet music and recordings, share your searches through email and social media platforms and connect with your school’s or local library’s music collection through Worldcat.
Schneider Music Library
Music Building, First Floor
Circulation: 512.245.3376
Librarian: 512.245.9661
Music Librarian: Mark Blair
Some music resources are available at Alkek, especially focusing its content on material about music, like books/eBooks and databases/journals. Music material at Alkek can be found on the 3rd floor and also on the 6th floor of the Library.
The Schneider Music Library will be your primary point of access when looking for primary source material, like scores and recordings.
The Library Catalog and Research Databases can be accessed from either library's website.
As you begin your research, consult the Introduction to Research guide for helpful searching tips and resources/services available to students, faculty and staff.
Online Audio Collections:
We subscribe to seven streaming audio databases, giving you access to music 24 hours a day, from home or wherever you happen to be!:
- American Song
- Classical Music Library
- Contemporary World Music
- Jazz Music Library
- Smithsonian Global Sound
All of the databases above are accessible and cross-searchable via the Alexander Street Press
Music Online portal
If you're off-campus, you'll be prompted to enter your Texas State username and password.
Music Databases are provided through the Alkek Library website. They are accessible on and off campus; for off-campus access, you'll be prompted to enter your NetID and password.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Index to Printed Music
Infotrac Fine Arts and Music Collection
International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text
International Music Score Library Project
JSTOR
Oxford Music Online, Grove Music Dictionary
RISM Manuscripts Series A/II: Music Manuscripts After 1600
RILM
See also....
How to use WorldCat
WorldCat is your go-to resource for locating materials in other libraries!
So What's WorldCat?
Indexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and parts of the world. Useful if you want to see "what's out there" or if you want to see where you can find an item in another Texas Library.
