Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ED 7320: Literature Review for Research Writing: Finding Books/eBooks

Literature Review for Research Writing

ILL - FADS/GRADS - TexShare

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks nad must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email. 

Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.245.4893  Items can be picked up at the Checkout Desk on the 3rd floor of the Library. 

GRADS and FADS are related services for graduate students and faculty. If we own a journal in print, ILL staff will scan the article for you and email the document out to you. 

A TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at participating libraries.

Search for Books & More in the Library:

Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. 

Start Your Research searches can also be limited to books/eBooks by marking the "Library Catalog" option on the left.

Collections of eBooks can also be searched and most are included in Start Your Research.
Multi-disciplinary collections that will be especially helpful include EBSCO eBook Collection, ProQuest eBook Central, Springer eBook Collection (ePub files can't be used on the Kindle)

Citation Management

  • Organize your research    
  • Include citations while you write your paper    
  • Build a bibliography in a variety of formats    
  • Import references from library databases and Google Scholar
  • Sync your EndNote Web to Desktop account

Alkek Library also has a Style Guide that covers APA as well as other citation styles.

Image result for apa 7th edition
What's new in APA 7th edition?