Respiratory Care

For an overview of Artificial Intelligence take a look at the following resources:

 Artificial Intelligence guide

Artificial Intelligence (AI) in Academia (directed at faculty, but provides general information about AI tools).

• Considerations when using AI to find articles:

  • Where is the AI tool getting the articles? 
    • Many AI tools search Semantic Scholar which indexes credible sources like PubMed, but the tools also pull information from the internet that may not be credible.
  • How recent are the articles?
    • Some AI tools only provide articles published recently so you could miss relevant older articles.  
  • Are the citations real?
    • Sometimes AI tools provide citations to articles that do not exist.  

• Considerations when using AI Tools to analyze and understand articles.

  • Accuracy of output
    • The AI tool may be misunderstanding the meaning of the article.
    • Does the AI tool cite the source it's summarizing?
  • Bias and Limitations
    • Be aware of potential biases in AI models and the limitations in how content is interpreted or analyzed.
  • Copyright and Licensing
    • Do you have the right to upload and share the article?
    • Many articles in the library databases are copyrighted and you do not have permission to upload the article to any AI tools.
  • Data Privacy and Confidentiality
    • When you upload data to an AI tool, it is possible that the tool will make the information accessible to other users.  
    • Take care not to upload data with sensitive or legally protected information.
    • Be cautious when uploading your own research as the paper may be shared with other users.

AI Tools to help you find articles:

Perplexity

You can search for articles, analyze, and generate content.

Texas State provides a free pro account to students so be sure to use the SSO sign in option. See the ITAC page on Perplexity to learn more!

Consensus

Consensus is a search engine that uses language models to surface papers and synthesize insights from academic research papers. If article is open access the pdf will be provided.

Research Rabbit

Provides a graphic representation of articles based on citation relationship.  The tool is especially helpful if you want to view the chronology of articles or identify the seminal article on a topic.  You can search for a specific article or by keywords. If article is open access the pdf will be provided.

Connected Papers

Provides a graphic representation of articles based on similarity. If article is open access the pdf will be provided.

Databases that provide an AI tool that help analyze or summarize articles:

Proquest (you have to click on an article to access the AI tool.  The AI tool is not available for all articles)

Resources listing AI Tools:

AI Research Tools for Literature Reviews

Getting full text articles on the Web!

If you are using an AI Tool to find articles, you will only get access to the full text if the article is an open access article.

The good news is that if you download the browser extension Libkey Nomad, you can access articles provided through the TXState libraries without going through the library website!