Open Education supports student-centered instruction - utilizing tools, resources, and practices that are open (free from monetary, legal, and other limitations) to bridge the gaps of access, equity, and representation.
This sub community contains Open Educational Resource (OER) created and used by the university community. The OER created by the university community are arranged into collections based on the material’s intended use.
| Collection | Scope |
|---|---|
| Assessments | This collection contains OER content related to assessment activities. This collection includes but is not limited to: multiple choice practice questions, and essay questions. |
| Assignments | This collection contains OER assignment content. This collection includes but is not limited to: essay prompts, homework assignments, and activities. |
| Course build components | This collection contains OER course build components content. This collection including but not limited to: exported LMS cartridges, modules of content, syllabi, and course outlines. |
| Interactives | This collection contains interactive OER content. This collection including but not limited to: exported HTML packages, simulations, and other interactive content types. |
| Multimedia | This collection contains multimedia OER content. This collection including but not limited to: video content, audio content, and other visual content. |
| Texts | This collection contains OER text content. This collection including but not limited to chapters, articles, and pages of text. |
This sub community contains Open Pedagogical course materials created by the TXST community.
| Collection | Scope |
|---|---|
| Assignments | This collection contains Open Pedagogy assignments and supporting course materials. This collection includes but is not limited to complete Open “renewable” assignments and supplemental instructional materials for those assignments. |
This collection utilizes specific metadata elements for learning to create more robust, useful, and searchable descriptions for each item.
| Term | Definition | Field Type | Mandatory |
|---|---|---|---|
| Learning Resource Type | The predominant type or kind characterizing the learning resource. | Select from vocabulary | Required |
| Interactivity Type | The predominant mode of learning supported by the learning resource. | Select from vocabulary | Recommended |
| Educational Level | The level of a resource in terms of progression through an educational or training context. | Select from vocabulary | Recommended |
| Assesses | The item being described is intended to assess the competency or learning outcome defined by the referenced term. | Text entry | Optional |
| Teaches | The item being described is intended to help a person learn the competency or learning outcome defined by the referenced term. | Text entry | Optional |
| Educational Use | The purpose of a work in the context of education. | Select from vocabulary | Recommended |
| Educational Role | The role that describes the target audience of the content. The educational function assumed or part played by the group for whom the resource is intended. | Select from vocabulary | Recommended |
Learning resource type describes the type of learning resource the item is. This field uses a controlled vocabulary and mandates a selection from the list below. Definitions for each option are provided.
| Term | Definition |
|---|---|
| activity plan | Detailed description of an activity engaged in by the learner for the purpose of acquiring certain skills, concepts, or knowledge, whether guided by an instructor or not. There may be several activities in a lesson or an activity may take place outside of a lesson. |
| assessment | Set of assessment items used to evaluate or promote learning. |
| assessment item | Specific prompt, that defines a question or protocol for a measurable activity that triggers a response from a person used to determine whether the person has mastered a learning objective. |
| educator curriculum guide | Document that defines what concepts should be taught and/or how a concept should be taught effectively. |
| lesson plan | Detailed description of the course of instruction for a short period of time that is used by a teacher to guide class instruction. |
| physical learning resource | Physical object, hardware or device designed to help a learner achieve some learning objective. Examples include educational toys, programmable robots, manipulables used by learners. This does not include auxiliary resources (e.g. pencil, paper, scissors, soldering iron) required for a learning activity. |
| recorded lesson | Audio or video recording, or textual record (e.g. transcript or edited script) of a lesson, lecture or similar short instructional event. |
| supporting document | Document with an instructional component designed to help a learner achieve some learning objective. These are typically static text and or images that may be physical or online. Examples include training manuals, infographics, explainers, textbook chapters, slides from a lesson in whatever form. For textbooks use Textbook. This does not include supplementary/auxilliary resources (e.g. the text being studied in a language class) required for a learning activity. |
| textbook | Book designed to be used as a standard source of information to facilitate learning of a particular subject. |
| unit plan | Long-range plan of instruction on a particular concept. A Unit contains several lessons, activities and or assessments that are related. |
Interactivity type describes the primary mode of learning that the resource supports. This field uses a controlled vocabulary and mandates a selection from the list below. Definitions for each option are provided.
| Term | Definition |
|---|---|
| active | Learning that engages and challenges the learner's thinking using real-life and/or imaginary situations taking advantage of the opportunities for learning presented by investigating, exploring, events, and life experiences. |
| expositive | Use of a subject-matter expert to explain a concept or give clear and concise information in a purposeful way to the passive learner. |
| mixed | Instructional interactions comprised of a mix of active learning and expositive approaches. |
Educational level describes a resource in terms of progression through an educational context. This field uses a controlled vocabulary and mandates a selection from the list below. Definitions for each option are provided.
| Term | Definition |
|---|---|
| Graduate | |
| Undergraduate (Upper Division) | |
| Undergraduate (Lower Division) |
Assesses describes the competency or learning outcome that the item is intended to assess.
Teaches describes the competency or learning outcome that the item is intended to assist in learning.
Educational use describes the intended use of the material in an educational setting. This field uses a controlled vocabulary and mandates a selection from the list below. Definitions for each option are provided.
| Term | Definition |
|---|---|
| assessment | Primary purpose of the resource is to evaluate learning, before, during, or after instruction occurs. |
| instruction | Primary purpose of the resource is to support the instructional process, student learning, or to provide information about the curriculum. |
| professional support | Primary purpose of the resource is to provide instruction for a teacher or other education professional including professional development. |
Educational role describes the target audience or part played by the person intended to utilize the resource. This field uses a controlled vocabulary and mandates a selection from the list below. Definitions for each option are provided.
| Term | Definition |
|---|---|
| administrator | A trainer or educator with administrative authority and responsibility. |
| general public | The public at large. |
| mentor | Someone who advises, trains, supports, and/or guides. |
| parent | A father, mother, or legal guardian. |
| peer tutor | The peer learner serving as tutor of another learner. |
| professional | Someone already practicing a profession; an industry partner, or professional development trainer. |
| student | The learner or trainee. |
| teacher | A person who has been trained to implement educational methods and practices. |