LibGuides: Geographic Information Services (GIS): Thematic Resources

GIS Thematic Resources

GIS Applications in Agriculture [Book]
Highlighting recent successes and the nuts and bolts associated with implementing the proposed techniques, the book covers energy efficiency calculations, techniques for overcoming yield-limiting factors, soil information collection and analysis, and remote sensing for improving management decisions.
USDA Data and Statistics
Covers topics like trade, imports, health, farm income, food consumption per capita, historical agriculture data and much more.
Texas Dept. of Agricultural Reports and Publications
Covers Texas data such as fertilizer reports, pesticides, aquaculture, weights and measures and more.

FAO (Food and Agriculture Organization) - GIS and Remote Sensing Data provides access to various geospatial datasets related to agriculture, food security, land use, and climate changes like crop production, land suitability, climate variability, and more.

Agriculture and rural development data

Provides global data and statistics on agricultural production, rural development, poverty, and food security.

Geographic Information Systems and Crime Analysis [Book]
Computerized crime mapping or GIS in law enforcement agencies has experienced rapid growth, particularly since the mid 1990s. This book features a diverse array of GIS applications in crime analysis, from general issues such as GIS as a communication process and inter-jurisdictional data sharing to specific applications in tracking serial killers and predicting juvenile violence.
more...less...
by Fahui Wang
Crime Map of Austin Texas
Interactive map that allows you to focus in on a particular address, filter data by year and/or a particular crime.
FBI Crime Statistics
Regularly published or contributed to series of statistical crime reports and publications, detailing specific offenses and outlining trends that can help you better understand crime threats both nationally and locally.

US Census Bureau Data
Demographic data in the U.S. provided by the Census Bureau.

GIS in Ecology Data Sources
Links to external sites where you can find a wide range of data sources which are suitable for inclusion in GIS projects.

GBIF Dataset

Global Biodiversity Information Facility (GBIF) provides access to data about the distribution of species around the world: an essential resource for biodiversity studies.

WRI Ecosystem Data

World Resources Institute (WRI) – Ecosystem Services provides GIS-compatible data on ecosystems, land use, and ecosystem services.

TCEQ Data and Statistics
Includes information about water and air quality, waste management, water utilities and wells, drought and more.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Information on the science and population health that relates to the environment.

GIS and Public Health, Second Edition [Book]
Basic GIS concepts and tools are explained, including ways to access and manage spatial databases. The book presents state-of-the-art methods for mapping and analyzing data on population, health events, risk factors, and health services, and for incorporating geographical knowledge into planning and policy.
more...less...
by Ellen K. Cromley; Sara L. McLafferty
Center for Disease Control (CDC) GIS Data
Includes tips on creating health maps, health and disease data, maps, links to other credible sources, etc.
The Dartmouth Atlas of Healthcare
For more than 20 years, the Dartmouth Atlas Project has documented glaring variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States. The project uses Medicare data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Data
Includes data and reports on mental health in the United States.

Historical GIS [Book]
Historical GIS introduces the basic concepts and tools underpinning GIS technology, describing and critically assessing the visualisation, analytical and e-Science methodologies that it enables and examining key scholarship where GIS has been used to enhance research debates.
more...less...
by Ian Gregory; Paul Ell
Progress in Cultural Heritage Preservation [Book]
This book constitutes the refereed proceedings of the 4th International Conference on Progress in Cultural Heritage Preservation, EuroMed 2012, held in Lemesos, Cyprus, in October/November 2012. The 95 revised full papers were carefully reviewed and selected from 392 submissions.
more...less...
by Marino Ioannides (Editor); Dieter Fritsch (Editor); Johanna Leissner (Editor); Rob Davies (Editor); Fabio Remondino (Editor); Rossa Caffo (Editor).
National Historical Geographic Information Systems
Historical data formatted into tabular data sources, time series tables, and GIS boundary files.

NOAA Storm Prediction Center
Includes data about hurricanes, tornadoes, population density, hail, wind, biomass density and more topics relating to weather in the U.S.
NOAA Hurricane GIS Data
Subtopics relating to hurricanes are available by year in GIS formats.

USGS Earthquake Data

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) – Earthquake Hazards Program provides data on real-time earthquake locations, magnitude, fault line data, and ground shaking maps. Includes data on seismic hazards across the United States and the world.

FEMA National Flood Hazard Layer

This Offers flood hazard data, including flood, Flood zones, floodplain maps, flood risk data (shapefiles), flood depth and hazard analysis maps.

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)
The Bureau of Ocean Energy Management is committed to clear, transparent communication of our actions and policies. BOEM collects data on all facets of our offshore Oil and Gas Energy Programs and makes that information available in various formats.
Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE)
Part of BSEE's responsibility in managing offshore public lands is providing the public with technical information about offshore activities. We collect data on all facets of the offshore program and publish them online in various forms.

NREL GIS Data

National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) provides data on renewable energy resources, solar, wind, geothermal data, and energy modeling.

USFS GIS Data

U.S. Forest Service (USFS) provides GIS data on forest management, wildfire occurrences, wildlife habitats, land cover, ecosystem health, and natural resource conservation.

US Department of Transportation GIS
Data and statistics by mode of transportation, region, and subject.

NTAD Data

National Transportation Atlas Database (NTAD) provides transportation-related GIS data, including information on highways, railroads, public transportation, and airports.

Making Spatial Decisions Using GIS
Students will use organized workflows, spatial analysis, and visualization to make decisions rooted in real-world issues about crime, hazards, hurricanes, demographics, and urban planning.
more...less...
by Kathryn Keranen; Robert Kolvoord
City of San Antonio GIS
Here you can download GIS data for the San Antonio area that includes parks, viewsheds, boundaries, city hall, corridor plans, aerial imagery and more.

USGS National Map

USGS (United States Geological Survey) provides a wide range of geospatial datasets, including topography, land cover, hydrography, geology, and more.

World bank Urban Data

Urban Planning Data (World Bank) provides datasets related to urban development, infrastructure, housing, transportation, and poverty.

USGS Water Resources GIS Data
USGS has many GIS maps and data relating to water, watersheds, groundwater, aquifers, surface waters, water quality, floods, etc.
Texas Water Resources Institute
Includes links to other helpful resources relating to water conservation and drought.

USGS Water Resources Data

US Geological Survey (USGS) Water Resources offers GIS data sets related to water resources, including streamflow data, groundwater levels, water quality, watershed delineation, flood maps, and more.

EPA Watershed Data

The United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) provides GIS datasets related to watershed health, monitoring sites, land use in watersheds, and water quality assessments.

TWDB GIS data

Texas Water Development Board (TWDB) offers a variety of GIS data related to Texas' water resources, including groundwater resources, water use, surface water, and drought indicators.