Links to Repositories (Collections) of Materials. (Not all materials available online)
- Bexar Archives Online 1717-1805The Bexar Archives are the official Spanish documents that preserve the political, military, economic, and social life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas. Both in their volume and breadth of subject matter, the Bexar Archives are an important source for the history of Hispanic Texas up to 1836.
The documents are available in the original Spanish or, in English translation.
Here is Background on this key resource.
Look near the bottom of the page linked above for links to indexes and other tools for using this material.
American Indian History-Oral Interviews
American Indian Research Project at USD
Doris Duke American Indian Oral History Project, 1949-1972: Utah Indians
North American Indians
D’Arcy McNickle Center for American Indian and Indigenous Studies
Indian Claims Commission Materials (National Indian Law Library)
Indigenous Digital Archive (by NM’s Museum of Indian Arts & Culture)
Nation to Nation: Treaties Between the United States and American Indian Nations @ NMAI
National Museum of the American Indian
Protocols for Native American Archival Materials
Eugene C. Barker Texas History Collection [Briscoe Center for American History at UT]
PARES (Portal de Archivos Españoles) [Spanish-language access to Spanish archives on-line (including innumerable documents on the Americas)]
Library Daatabases Focused on Primary Sources
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources providing a unique insight into interactions between indigenous people of North America and Europeans from their earliest contact, through the American Civil War and the civil rights movement of the 20th century. 16th-20th century.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Articles and primary sources on the history and culture of indigenous peoples from precontact through the 21st century. Includes treaties, speeches, captivity narratives, traditional storytelling, maps, photographs, and video.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Articles from 45 newspapers from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada. Some content is bi-lingual, English translations of Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. 1828-2016.
- Portal to Texas History This link opens in a new window
An index to unique collections of Texas history materials in Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections.
- Congressional Publications (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowLegislative histories, bills & laws, voting records, Congressional Record archive, hearings, House & Senate reports, Serial Set & Maps. 1789 to present.
- Annual report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior (1840-1892)Reports available via Sabin Americana Database
- Bureau of Indian Affairs PublicationsPublications authored by the U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs. The collection is updated as items are added to the HathiTrust repository.
This collection can be searched for keywords and sorted various ways.