Bibliography on Comanches
- BibliographyDr. Rivaya Bibliography
Books from other libraries
If you are interested in books which are not owned by the Alkek Library, they can be requested via our Interlibrary Loan service and we will borrow them from another library. This is a free service available to current Texas State Students, Faculty, Staff. NOTE: This process takes 7-10 days for books.
To request a book, open our ILLIAD link for interlibrary loan and fill out the online request form.
If you have not used the service before, just click near the bottom of the page at the "First time users" link to set up your free account.
WorldCat is a database to look at to find out which libraries own books that might not be available in the Alkek Library. Use the "request this item via ILL" link in each record to generate an ILL request to Texas State.
Library of Congress is a great source of information as well. In addition to the extensive catalog of books, a lot of digital primary source materials and other information is available here as well.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA great source for digitized books from research libraries around the U.S. Books can be downloaded and are fully searchable.
Reference Books for General Background
The Oxford Handbook of American Indian History by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9780199858897Publication Date: 2016
- Handbook of North American Indians
This set was published by Smithsonian Institution. It was never finished due to funding issues. The set was planned to be 20 volumes. They were not published in order (See details at link below)
Native Peoples - A to ZCall Number: Reference Shelves, Floor 2 E58 .N385 2009ISBN: 1878592734Publication Date: 2009
Encyclopedia of United States Indian Policy and Law by Call Number: Reference Shelves, Floor 2 KF8205 .E525 2009ISBN: 9781933116983Publication Date: 2008
American Indian Culture by Call Number: Reference Shelves, Floor 2 E98.S7 A44 2004 [3 vols.]ISBN: 1587651920Publication Date: 2004
Cambridge history of the native peoples of the Americas [3 vols.] by Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 E77 .N62 1996ISBN: 0521573920Publication Date: 1996This book provides the first comprehensive history of the Native Peoples of North America from their arrival in the western hemisphere to the present. It describes how Native Peoples have dealt with the environmental diversity of North America and have responded to the different European colonial regimes and national governments that have established themselves in recent centuries. It also examines the development of a pan-Indian identity since the nineteenth century and provides a comparison not found in other histories of how Native Peoples have fared in Canada and the United States.
Treaties with American Indians by Call Number: Gov Info, Reference Shelves, Floor 4 KF8203.6 .T74 2008ISBN: 9781576078808Publication Date: 2007-12-12This invaluable reference reveals the long, often contentious history of Native American treaties, providing a rich overview of a topic of continuing importance. * Over 300 entries covering important treaties such as the Treaty of 1778, U.S. and Indian leaders such as Chief Justice John Marshall and Red Cloud of the Sioux, and legal decisions such as Worcester v. Georgia * 16 in-depth thematic essays providing both government and Indian perspectives on major issues, plus six essays looking at U.S.& ;Indian relations region by region * A complete chronology of the major events that shaped the history of Native American treaty-making Photographs of significant individuals, treaty sites, and artifacts
- Inidian Affairs Laws & Treatiesv. 1. Laws. Compiled to Dec. 1, 1902.--v. 2. Treaties.--v. 3. Laws. Compiled to Dec. 1, 1913.--v. 4. Laws. Compiled to March 4, 1927.--v. 5. Laws. Compiled from Dec. 22, 1927, to June 29, 1938.
