Bibliography Mining
If someone has already done research on a topic you are investigating you are encouraged to seek out the same sources. Sometimes you may find an abundant amount of material that wasn't important to them, but is perfect for you. Other times you may find you disagree with their interpretation, which will give you something to write about from a fresh perspective.
Theses and dissertations are a great place to find bibliographies (sometimes called literature reviews) Many can be found in this database-
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
Databases & Source Collections
How do you find out which of these journals has articles on your specific topic?
Use a database to find out.
- Databases of Primary Source MaterialsList of databases available trough the library that contain primary source historical materials
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications. Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Articles and primary sources on the history and culture of indigenous peoples from precontact through the 21st century. Includes treaties, speeches, captivity narratives, traditional storytelling, maps, photographs, and video.
- Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Articles from 45 newspapers from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada. Includes bi-lingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. 1828-2016.
- Annual report of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs to the Secretary of the Interior (1840-1892)Reports available via Sabin Americana Database
- Bureau of Indian Affairs PublicationsPublications authored by the U.S. Bureau of Indian Affairs. The collection is updated as items are added to the HathiTrust repository.
This collection can be searched for keywords and sorted various ways.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new windowA finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document. 1976 to present.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Descriptive information on cultures and ethnic groups from around the world. eHRAF has a unique classification system which allows for precise culture and subject retrieval.
- Frontier Life: Borderlands, Settlements & Colonial Encounters This link opens in a new windowManuscripts, rare books, maps and other material for the study of colonization in regions of North America, Africa, and Australasia.
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowVariety of primary sources from the 15th to the 21st centuries. Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals; 19th Century US Newspapers; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850; 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; Archives Unbound; Times Digital Archive; Illustrated London News Historical Archive; Sunday Times Digital Archive; American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990; Archives of Sexuality & Gender; Archives Unbound; Associated Press Collections; British Library Newspapers; Sabin Americana, 1500-2013; Religions of America.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowWorld history database (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, with coverage extending to related disciplines such as archeology, anthropology and sociology. 1953 to present.
- JSTORJournal archive does NOT contain the most recent (3-5 years) of journals
- Legislative & Executive Reports This link opens in a new windowReports, documents, and maps either produced or ordered by Congress, as well as presidential communications and treaty materials. 1789 to present.
- Smithsonian Institution Collections Search Center This link opens in a new window
Search millions of items from the Smithsonian's museum, archives, library, research holdings and collections.
- Smithsonian Open Access This link opens in a new window2D and 3D digital images and data from across the Smithsonian's museums, research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo, to download, share, and reuse.
- UlrichswebUse this database to look up the title of the journal and click on it.
From there, scroll to the bottom for the "Abstracting/Indexing" information. Here you[ll find a list of databases indexing the title.
- WorldCat (on FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowIndexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan. This version of WorldCat does not offer permalinking, use the public version instead.
