Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Research: Periodical Indexes

Connecting you to Music research and resources at Texas State University

Periodical Indexes

Articles from periodicals (journals and magazines) are an essential component of virtually any research undertaking. They can present the very latest findings (or controversies) in the field and are often a deep-dive into a narrow aspect of a topic. Periodical articles can be scholarly essays, but they can also be interviews, bibliographies, letters, or reviews. Refereed (or peer-reviewed) journals are especially valued in scholarly life, as their articles were scrutinized before publication by an editor and subject experts.

Periodical indexes are a great help in finding articles. Searches will yield results in the form of citations. (Citations typically include the author and title of the article, title of the journal, volume, issue number, and page range.) An abstract summarizing the contents of the article might also be included. Ideally—and increasingly commonly—the index provides you with a link by which you can access the full text of the article directly.

Music Periodicals Database and RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (see the next section) are the two major music periodical indexes we subscribe to. While their contents overlap to some extent, a thorough researcher should consult both databases. If you're working on an interdisciplinary topic (such as "music and religious experience" or "effects of prenatal music exposure"), you should consider searching additional indexes such as Humanities Source or ERIC, just to name two. See a selected list of these databases below.

Searching for articles used to be a complicated affair, but it's getting easier with evolving technology. Our own online "discovery tool," Start Your Research, is a highly powerful search engine. Searches will yield results from virtually all our periodical databases (including RILM and Music Periodicals Database), alongside the usual catalog listings for our books/ebooks, recordings, digital collections, etc. It can't be guaranteed to bring up absolutely every article citation that would be useful to your research or literature review, so if you are doing a post-graduate research project, we still encourage you to search individual databases. But, just doing one "megasearch" in Start Your Research can take you impressively far.

If you wish to search for a journal title directly (e.g. The Musical Quarterly), a search in Periodical List will show you which issues we have access to, whether by print or full-text online. (Go to Start Your Research and click the "Periodicals" button.) And if you discover that we do not have full-text access to a particular article you need, you can submit a request to our Interlibrary Loan department, who will attempt to borrow a copy or request an article/chapter scan from another library on your behalf.

Selected Resources

Major Music Periodical Indexes

Music Periodicals Database (via ProQuest)
(online)
Tip: If you wish to broaden the potential results of your search, consider trying ProQuest Databases, which enables you to do a single search that draws from all the ProQuest databases to which we subscribe, including Music Periodicals Database.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (via EBSCO)
(online)
Tip: To broaden the potential results of your search, try EBSCO Databases, where you can do a single search that draws from all the EBSCO databases to which we subscribe, including RILM.

Periodical Indexes for Related Disciplines

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
(online)

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
(online)

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
(online)

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
(online)

Essay & General Literature Index [1985-present]
(online)

Essay & General Literature Index [1900-1984]
(online)

Gale OneFile: Fine Arts
(online)

Humanities Source
(online)

JSTOR
(online)

MEDLINE Complete
(online)

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
(online)

Oxford Handbooks Online
(online)

Project Muse
(online)

Social Sciences Citation Index
(online)

General Periodical Indexes

Academic Search Complete
(online)

Google Scholar
(online)

Periodicals Archive Online
(online)

Newspaper Indexes

New York Times - Historical
(online)

Newsbank - Access World News
(online)

Newspaper Source Plus
(online)

Times [of London] Digital Archive 1785-2013
(online)

Visit Your Music Library!

Texas State has a branch library devoted to MUSIC! The Schneider Music Library, located in the Music Building, opens its door for all students to explore, ask questions, and check out items—regardless of your major. We encourage you to visit us in person or virtually, anytime!

Ask Your Music Librarian!

Profile Photo
Mark Blair
Contact:
School of Music
601 University Dr.
San Marcos, Texas 78666
512.245.9661
Website
Subjects: Music

We are Schneider!