Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Research: Guides to Writing About Music

Connecting you to Music research and resources at Texas State University

Guides to Writing About Music

You've done (most of) your research, and now it's time to write that paper! These books can help you make the best choices about the organization, style, and format of your papers.

Selected Resources

Music-Specific Writing Books

Classical Music Criticism: With a Chapter on Reviewing Ethnic Music (Schick, 1996)
(online)

A Handbook for Preparing Graduate Papers in Music, 2nd ed. (Boyle/Fiese/Zavac, 2004)
ML 3797 .B68 2004: Music Library, Dictionary Stand

How to Write About Music: Excerpts from the 33 1/3 Series... (Woodworth/Grossan, 2015)
ML 3785 .H69 2015: Music Library, Reference

Irvine's Writing about Music, 3rd ed. (Irvine/Radice, 1999)
ML 3797 .I79 1999: Music Library, Dictionary Stand
also online

Music in Words: A Guide to Researching and Writing about Music (Herbert, 2009)
(online)

A Short Guide to Writing About Music, 2nd ed. (Bellman, 2007)
ML 3797 .B4 2007: Music Library, Dictionary Stand

Writing about Music: An Introductory Guide, 4th ed. (Wingell, 2009)
ML 3797 .W54 2009: Music Library, Dictionary Stand

Writing Music (Ousborne, 2018)
ML 3830 .O83 2018: Music Library, Reference

Compiling Bibliographies

Bibliographies: Their Aims and Methods (Krummel, 1984)
Z 1001 .K86 1984: Alkek, 6th floor

On Compiling an Annotated Bibliography, 2nd ed. (Harner, 2000)
Z 1001 .H33 2000: Alkek, 6th floor

Concert Programs and Program Notes

Words & Music: Form and Procedure in Theses, Dissertations, Research Papers, Book Reports, Programs, Theses in Composition, Rev. ed. (Helm/Luper, 1982)
ML 3797 .H49 1982: Music Library, Reference

Writing about Music: A Style Sheet, 3rd ed. (Holoman, 2014)
ML 3797 .W75 2014: Music Library, Dictionary Stand
also online

Major Style Manuals

The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed. (2017)
Z 253 .U69 2017: Music Library, Dictionary Stand
also online

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: Chicago Style for Students and Researchers, 9th ed. (2018)
LB 2369 .T8 2018: Music Library, Dictionary Stand

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, 7th ed. (2020)
BF 76.7 .P83 2020: Music Library, Dictionary Stand

Concise Guide to APA Style: The Official APA Style Guide for Students, 7th ed. (2020)
BF 76.7 C66 2020: Alkek Library, 5th floor

MLA Handbook, 8th ed. (Modern Language Association of America, 2016)
LB 2369 .G53 2016: Music Library, Dictionary Stand

Music-Specific Style Manuals

How to Write about Music: the RILM Manual of Style, 2nd ed. (RILM, 2006)
ML 3797 .H69 2006: Music Library, Dictionary Stand

A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music (Donahue, 2010)
ML 3797 .D76 2010: Music Library, Dictionary Stand
also online

Reference/Citation Management Tools

EndNote (info)

Zotero (info)

Using Sources

Writing from Sources, 9th ed. (Spatt, 2016)
(item on order, coming soon)

Visit Your Music Library!

Texas State has a branch library devoted to MUSIC! The Schneider Music Library, located in the Music Building, opens its door for all students to explore, ask questions, and check out items—regardless of your major. We encourage you to visit us in person or virtually, anytime!

Ask Your Music Librarian!

Profile Photo
Mark Blair
Contact:
School of Music
601 University Dr.
San Marcos, Texas 78666
512.245.9661
Website
Subjects: Music

We are Schneider!