Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Research: Bibliographies of Music and Music Literature

Connecting you to Music research and resources at Texas State University

Bibliographies of Music: Selected Sources

General Music Bibliographies

Say Can You Deny Me: A Guide to Surviving Music by Women from the 16th through the 18th Centuries (Jackson, 1994)
ML 128 .W7 J3 1994: Music Library Reference

Early Music Bibliographies

RISM (International Inventory of Musical Sources): Series A/I: Individual Prints Before 1800
(online)
Series A/I documents printed music published between 1500 and 1800 that holds the work of a single composer.

RISM: Series A/II: Music Manuscripts After 1600
(online)
Series A/II is an index of music manuscripts (of a single composer) created after 1600. Sources from over 900 libraries, museums, archives, churches, schools, and private collections in more than 35 countries around the world are described in the database.

RISM: Series B/I: Printed Collections of the 16th &17th Centuries
ML 113 .I6 v.1 pt.1: Music Library, Reference
Bibliography of over 2,700 published anthologies of music by more than one composer.
also online
Please note that the online version is not yet complete: the years 1501-1550, 1601-1650, and most of 1651-1690 ARE in the database, but "additional years are gradually being added."

RISM: Series B/II: Printed Collections of the 18th Century
ML 113 .I6 v.1 pt.2: Music Library, Reference

Instrumental Music Bibliographies

The Band Music Handbook: A Catalog of Emerging Band Repertoire (Cicconi, 2017)
ML 128 .B23 C53 2017: Music Library, Reference

Daniels' Orchestral Music, 5th ed. (Daniels, 2015)
ML 128 .O5 D3 2015: Music Library, Reference

Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, 4th ed. (Hinson, 2014)
ML 128 .P3 H5 2014: Music Library, Reference
also online

Vocal Music Bibliographies

Art Song in the United States, 1759-2011: An Annotated Bibliography, 4th ed. (Carman/Gaeddert/Resch, 2013)
ML 128 .S3 C37 2013: Music Library, Reference

A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, 5 vol. (Green, 1994-2008)
Vol. 1: A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works ML 128 .C48 G72 2002 v.1: Music Library, Reference
Vol. 2: A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, Twentieth Century, Part II: The Music of Rachmaninov through Penderecki ML 128 .C48 G7 1994 pt.2: Alkek, 6th floor
Vol. 3: A Conductor's Guide to the Choral-Orchestral Works of J.S. Bach ML 134 .B1 G74 2000: Alkek, 6th floor
Vol. 4: A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, Classical Period, Volume I: Haydn and Mozart: ML 128 .C48 G72 2002 v.1: Music Library, Reference
Vol. 5: A Conductor's Guide to Nineteenth-Century Choral-Orchestral Works: ML 128 .C48 G73 2008: Alkek, 6th floor

From Studio to Stage: Repertoire for the Voice (Doscher/Nix, 2002)
ML 128 .V7 D67 2002: Music Library, Reference

Literature for Voice: An Index of Songs in Collections and Source Book for Teachers of Singing (Goleeke, 1984-2002)
ML 128 .S3 G64 1984 (vols. 1-2): Music Library, Reference

A Singer's Guide to the American Art Song, 1870-1980 (Villamil, 1993)
ML 128 .S3 V5 1993: Music Library, Reference

Rock and Popular Music Bibliographies

The Rock Song Index: Essential Information on the 7,500 Most Important Songs of the Rock and Roll Era: 1944-2000, 2nd ed. (Pollock, 2005)
(online)

Bibliographies of Music Literature: Selected Sources

General Bibliographies of Music Literature

Oxford Bibliographies Online
(online)

Reader's Guide to Music History, Theory, Criticism (Steib, 1999)
ML 113 .R34 1999: Music Library, Reference

World Music/Ethnomusicology Bibliographies

Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide, 2nd ed. (Post, 2011)
ML 128 .E8 P67 2011: Music Library, Reference
also online

Theory and Analysis Bibliographies

Analyses of Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Music: 1940—2000 (Hoek, 2007)
ML 113 .H695 2007: Music Library, Reference

Heinrich Schenker: A Guide to Research (Ayotte, 2004)
ML 134 .S25 A95 2004: Alkek, 6th floor

Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature (Diamond, 1991)
ML 128 .A7 D5 1991: Music Library, Reference

Music Education Bibliographies

MENC Handbook of Research on Music Learning (Colwell/Webster, 2015)
Volume 1, Strategies (online)
Volume 2, Applications (online)

The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: A Project of the Music Educators National Conference (Colwell, 2002)
MT 1 .N48 2002 c.2: Music Library, Reference

Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: A Project of the Music Educators National Conference (Colwell, 1992)
MT 1 .H138 1992: Music Library

Chamber Music Literature Bibliographies

Chamber Music: A Research and Information Guide, 3rd ed. (Baron, 2010)
ML 128 .C4 B37 2010: Music Library, Reference
also online

String Quartets: A Research and Information Guide, 2nd ed. (Parker, 2011)
ML 128 .S68 P37 2011: Music Library, Reference

Vocal Music Literature Bibliographies

Choral Music: A Research and Information Guide, 3rd ed. (Floyd/Sharp, 2019)
(online)

From Studio to Stage: Repertoire for the Voice (Doscher/Nix, 2002)
ML 128 .V7 D67 2002: Music Library, Reference

Library Resources for Singers, Coaches, and Accompanists: An Annotated Bibliography, 1970-1997 (McTyre, 1998)
ML 128 .V7 M45 1998: Alkek, 6th floor

The Musical: A Research and Information Guide, 2nd ed. (Everett, 2011)
ML 128 .M78 E84 2011: Music Library, Reference
also online

Opera: A Research and Information Guide, 2nd ed. (Marco, 2001)
ML 128 .O4 M28 2015: Music Library, Reference

Jazz Literature Bibliographies

Jazz Scholarship and Pedagogy: A Research and Information Guide, 3rd ed. (Meadows, 2006)
ML 128 .J3 M34 2005: Music Library, Reference

Rock and Popular Music Literature Bibliographies

Woodstock Scholarship: An Interdisciplinary Annotated Bibliography (Gatten, 2016)
(online)

Women in Music Bibliographies

Women in Music: A Research and Information Guide, 2nd ed. (Pendle/Boyd, 2010)
ML 128 .W7 P46 2010: Music Library, Reference

American Music Literature Bibliographies

Bibliographical Handbook of American Music (Krummel, 1987)
ML 120 .U5 K78 1987: Alkek, 6th floor

Composer Bio-Bibliographies, Guides to Research, and Other Bibliographies: Selected Resources

Bach, Johann Sebastian

An Introduction to Bach Studies (Melamed/Marissen, 1998)
ML 134 .B1 M45 1998: Alkek, 6th floor

Visit Your Music Library!

Texas State has a branch library devoted to MUSIC! The Schneider Music Library, located in the Music Building, opens its door for all students to explore, ask questions, and check out items—regardless of your major. We encourage you to visit us in person or virtually, anytime!

Ask Your Music Librarian!

Profile Photo
Mark Blair
Contact:
School of Music
601 University Dr.
San Marcos, Texas 78666
512.245.9661
Website
Subjects: Music

We are Schneider!