Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Note to Faculty
Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely accessible online teaching and learning materials. They can be videos, textbooks, quizzes, learning modules and more. Using OER in your classroom will improve student engagement and success, provide immediate, equitable access to resources, save money for your students, and provide you a venue to use flexible, high-quality learning materials in your individualized curriculum. This guide collects the best-of-the-best OER and organizes them by college and department. Take a look and see what is available in your discipline.
- Open Textbook is a term used to indicate a Textbook that is fully OER.
- Public Resources are materials that are free, but licenses still protect the content in some way.
- Library Resources do not cost your students any money, and should also be considered as a means to lower the total cost of learning for your students.
- Affordable Learning Materials: course materials that cost students $50or less, in total.
Tips for finding and using OER and other affordable content:
- There are lots of OER materials out there. It takes time and persistence to find the ones that best fit your students' academic and research needs.
- Instead of focusing on the textbook that you want to replace, focus on what you want your students to know or do.
- Use the resources in this guide to find OER relevant to your discipline and courses. These links are great starting points but if you are not finding the OER that work for you, contact your subject librarian for personalized help.
- If you find an article in a library database that you want to use in a course, Library staff can help you with copyright considerations and provide access to the resource through reserves, embed in an online course, or on a website.
- Talk with your subject librarian with any questions you have about finding and using OER.
Links to more detailed information about OER and copyright:
Find eBooks owned by the Library
19th Century Art Worldwide
Founded in 2002, Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide is a scholarly, refereed e-journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century painting, sculpture, graphic arts, photography, architecture, and decorative arts across the globe.
Journal of the International Association of Research Institutes in the History of Art is a peer-reviewed Open Access journal for the history of art and visual culture, featuring outstanding research articles that offer significant contributions to current scholarship.
Open Arts Journal
The Open Arts Journal addresses the demand for a rigorously compiled, peer-reviewed platform for arts scholarship open to diverse participants.
Participations: Journal of Audience & Reception Studies
The aim of this Journal is to become a focal point for research, debate and publication on all aspects of the study of audiences for cultural and media products and practices.
With high-res, downloadable images of iconic works of art, as well as rich editorial content, Artsy is your educational gateway to the world of art.
Film studies for free
A pluralist, pro bono, and purely positive web-archive of examples of, links to, and comment on, online, Open Access, film and moving image studies resources of note.
The Getty Conservation Institute
A critical component of the work of the Getty Conservation Institute is making available to conservation professionals a variety of publications and other resources that can assist them in their work.
Italian Renaissance Resources
A freely available resource, this site features eight units, each of which explores a different theme in Italian Renaissance art. Researchers and students can explore thematic essays, more than 300 images, 300 glossary items and 42 primary source texts. This resource is a collaboration between the National Gallery of Art, Washington and Grove Art Online, made possible by the generous support of the Samuel H. Kress Foundation.
Smarthistory at Khan Academy offers more than one thousand videos and articles on art from around the world and across time.
Metropolitan Museum of Art : Timeline of Art History
"This site gives a history of art, worldwide. It contains biographical and societal information on the artists. It has examples of the art pieces with time and place of origin, the owners name, and the fabric/material it is made of. It separates topics by country/empires."
MIT Press Open Architecture and Urban Studies
MIT Press Open Architecture and Urban Studies is a robust digital collection of classic and previously out-of-print architecture and urban studies books on our dedicated eBook platform, MIT Press Direct. The collection was funded by a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation as part of the Humanities Open Book Program, which they co-sponsored with the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Multimedia & Technology Reviews
The ARLIS/NA Multimedia & Technology Reviews target projects, products, events, and issues within the broad realm of multimedia and technology related to arts scholarship, research, and librarianship. While assessing current products and projects, these reviews are also designed to engage the membership in a conversation about how technologies and multimedia are being or can be deployed within our profession and by our constituents.
An open online community for sharing art, design and media practice based learning, teaching and research.
Smithsonian Learning Lab
The Learning Lab gives everyone with a desire to learn the opportunity to explore the Smithsonian's rich resources anytime, anywhere.
World Digital Library
The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
Open Textbooks - Arts
A collection of peer-reviewed, open textbooks available online or for download.
Tens of thousands of learning objects, called pages, that are organized into thousands of textbook-style books in a host of disciplines, all easily accessible online and downloadable to almost any device, anywhere, anytime.
Directory of Open Access Books
Academic, peer reviewed texts published Open Access.
Search full-text of books. In advanced search, select "full view only" and "books."
Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum
This database represents the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum’s diverse collection spanning thirty centuries of historic and contemporary design
Online resources for visual arts. Over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research.
Getty Museum - Open Content Program
The Getty makes available, without charge, all available digital images to which the Getty holds the rights or that are in the public domain to be used for any purpose. No permission is required.
TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
ArtBabble is a website that showcases high quality art-related video content from more than 50 cultural institutions from around the world.
Kahn Academy offers a variety of short videos on art history topics. All Khan Academy content is available for free at www.khanacademy.org
Getty Museum - Khan Academy
Partnership of Getty and Khan to provide educational videos about decorative arts, photography, art conservation, paintings, etc.