LibGuides: OER and Library Resources by College: Mathematics

Note to Faculty

For more information and to view the courses currently being offered fully with Open Education Resources, please see the Registrar's website at http://www.registrar.txstate.edu/resources/oer

Open Educational Resources (OER) are freely accessible online teaching and learning materials. They can be videos, textbooks, quizzes, learning modules and more. Using OER in your classroom will improve student engagement and success, provide immediate, equitable access to resources, save money for your students, and provide you a venue to use flexible, high-quality learning materials in your individualized curriculum. This guide collects the best-of-the-best OER and organizes them by college and department. Take a look and see what is available in your discipline.

Open Textbook is a term used to indicate a Textbook that is fully OER.
Public Resources are materials that are free, but licenses still protect the content in some way.
Library Resources do not cost your students any money, and should also be considered as a means to lower the total cost of learning for your students.
Affordable Learning Materials: course materials that cost students $50or less, in total.

Tips for finding and using OER and other affordable content:

There are lots of OER materials out there. It takes time and persistence to find the ones that best fit your students' academic and research needs.
Instead of focusing on the textbook that you want to replace, focus on what you want your students to know or do.
Use the resources in this guide to find OER relevant to your discipline and courses. These links are great starting points but if you are not finding the OER that work for you, contact your librarian for personalized help.
If you find an article in a library database that you want to use in a course, Library staff can help you with copyright considerations and provide access to the resource through reserves, embed in an online course, or on a website.
Talk with your librarian with any questions you have about finding and using OER.

Links to more detailed information about OER and copyright:

Find eBooks owned by the Library

Library Resources - Databases

Consult the Mathematics Databases page for a comprehensive list of databases related to Mathematics.

American Mathematical Society Journals

Education Source | ERIC

These two databases are particularly helpful for research in Mathematics Education

General Science Full Text

MathSciNet
For advanced Mathematics research, MathSciNet cannot be beat for its organization, authority, breadth, and depth. If you find something on MathSciNet which is not full-text, come back to another database to search for it - but start at MathSciNet.
more...less...
MathSciNet is a database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Authors are uniquely identified (by their MR Author ID), enabling a search for publications by individual author rather than by name which may not be unique. Expert professional mathematicians write reviews of the current published literature; over 80,000 reviews are added to the database each year. MathSciNet® contains almost 3 million items and over 1.7 million direct links to original articles. Bibliographic data from retrodigitized articles dates back to the early 1800s. Reference lists are collected and matched internally from approximately 550 journals, and citation data for journals, authors, articles and reviews is provided. This web of citations allows users to track the history and influence of research publications in the mathematical sciences.
ERIC
For Mathematics Education, History, or even undergraduate Mathematics research ERIC, an education disciplinary database, is a great tool.
Journals of the American Mathematical Society
Includes Conformal Geometry and Dynamics, Journal of the AMS, Mathematics of Computation, Proceedings of the AMS, Quarterly of Applied Mathematics, Representation Theory, Transactions of the AMS, Transactions of the Moscow Mathematical Society, Memoirs of the AMS, Notices of the AMS, Bulletin of the AMS, Abstracts of the AMS, and several open access journals.

Open Journals

PLOS ONE
PLOS ONE features reports of original research from all disciplines within science and medicine.

Public Resources

AMS Open Math Notes
AMS Open Math Notes is a repository of freely downloadable mathematical works in progress hosted by the American Mathematical Society as a service to researchers, teachers and students.
National Science Digital Library
Provides high quality online educational resources for teaching and learning, with current emphasis on the sciences, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) disciplines.
PhET Interactive Simulations
PhET provides fun, free, interactive, research-based science and mathematics simulations. We extensively test and evaluate each simulation to ensure educational effectiveness.
WolframAlpha
Wolfram|Alpha is an engine for computing answers and providing knowledge. It works by using its vast store of expert-level knowledge and algorithms to automatically answer questions, do analysis, and generate reports.
WolframAlpha Demonstrations
Demonstrations can be used to enliven a classroom or visualize complex concepts, while others shed new light on cutting-edge ideas from academic and industrial workgroups. Each is reviewed and edited by experts for content, clarity, presentation, quality, and reliability.

Open Textbooks

Open Textbook Library for Mathematics
Tool to help instructors find affordable, quality textbook solutions. All textbooks in this library are complete and openly licensed.
Open Stax for Math
Created by Rice University, Open Stax is a peer-reviewed directory of unique OER content. Reuse and remix as you like, or assign an Open Stax textbook for your class. Open Stax books are also available printed, and can be purchased through the bookstore usually for about $15 (the cost of printing).